Topic Options
#433017 - 06/17/17 02:04 AM Re: Bye Bye G70 [Re: Mockie]
Bernie9 Online   content

Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Ha ha, okay I see.

#433039 - 06/17/17 09:12 PM Re: Bye Bye G70 [Re: Mockie]
Mark79100 Offline

Loc: USA
I'd buy a dozen G70's if I could. I played one for a couple of hours in the days when you could find a TOTL arranger in any store. The reason I played it so long speaks for itself. That was an incredible sounding machine as I recall. But I'm a "styles" person. Like some men look at bosoms first, I look at styles first. And those styles were noticeably creative and very playable.

I've been playing Roland's for many years. The reason I'm still using my E-300 is because of the styles. Not only the on-board ones are useful, I collected hundreds of them from various sources. Almost every one is a "keeper."

Ketron styles are good, but they play YOU, you don't play them. They come on too strong. Like listening to a vocalist singing on stage where the band in the background is dominant because the sound man is not listening to the mix.

Yamaha styles are good but they sound (to me) too automated, too robotic, too sterile. And, if I'm correct, the Tyros is geared toward the home market, because the machine is so big. And, then, those silly symbols on the screen that represent the sounds. Very unprofessional.

Korg, I think has the worse styles. That doesn't mean they're bad, I just think out of the top machines......Korg has the worse styles. It appears they blew their bankroll on machine design, architecture, strength and durability, operating system, and had a little bit left over to pay some musicians to make styles. What really ticks me off on my PA3x is they advertise 4 variations. But those 4 variations are all the same with only one instrument coming into the background for each (variation). You can't even hear the difference.