SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#420491 - 04/26/16 08:54 AM kn2600 v kn7000
kozykeys Offline
Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 196
Loc: york england
hi everyone glad to be back and see its still the same as ever
i am presently gigging with a singer using a kn7000 i am thinking of buying a kn2600 as the 7000 is very heavy has anyone used a 2600 for gigs if so could you tell me the pros and cons
many thanks
_________________________
jan

Top
#420495 - 04/26/16 11:14 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
bruno123 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/04/02
Posts: 3197
Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Jan I did the same thing. The Kn7000 was a bit heavy so I purchased a Kn2600. After the second job I never used it again. Many of the features that made the Kn7000 such a special instrument were not in the Kn2600.They left too many things out making it a disappointment.

If I never had a Kn7000 maybe I might have thought differently; but it was lie going backwards. I bought a used Yamaha Psr900 instead. It was a good keyboard but I went back to the kn7000 for another 12 years.

Only my opinion, JohnC.

Top
#420537 - 04/27/16 02:24 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: bruno123]
kozykeys Offline
Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 196
Loc: york england
hi bruno thanks for that can you remember what any of the missing features were as i havent bought the 2600 yet .
thanks again
jan
_________________________
jan

Top
#420538 - 04/27/16 03:23 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1476
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Jan - if you want to buy a KN2600 very cheap I've got one I bought which was advertised as 'scrap for parts' but I found when I got it home that it works perfectly. I was thinking of midiing it up to my KN7000 but never got round to it. It's yours for £50 if we can find a way of me getting it to you.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#420539 - 04/27/16 03:25 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
bruno123 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/04/02
Posts: 3197
Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Jan, it’s been too long for me to remember. When you are comparing a flagship keyboard Kn7000 to a less expensive model it is the options and the sound quality. Try finding the Kn2600 and Kn7000 manuals on the internet.

What do recall is the last job I used the Kn2600 on a job. I was dissatisfied; too many work-arounds to get what I wanted. Trumpet, my favorite was not the same, neither was the piano. I could find no reason to keep it. It would be like comparing The Yamaha Tyros series to the Psr series – night and day.

Jan, Those who have not owned a Kn7000 and buy a Kn2600 will have a nice keyboard; It is only in comparing that I am writing. The old saying, “You get what you pay for”.

Good luck, John C. (bruno123)

PS, If I were looking for a keyboard with less weight I would buy a Yamaha; almost half the weight of a Kn7000. Yamaha has the largest collection of styles in the market.

Top
#420541 - 04/27/16 03:58 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: bruno123]
kozykeys Offline
Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 196
Loc: york england
hello again i have a yamaha psr3000 and a tyros 4 the tyros is too heavy the psr 3000 is not rich enough maybe i should just here a roadie
many thanks for your help
regards
jan
_________________________
jan

Top
#420542 - 04/27/16 04:04 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: RMepstead]
kozykeys Offline
Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 196
Loc: york england
hi roger long time no speak hope you are well and are still enjoying your gigs i am bidding for one on ebay at thee moment its still got 5 days to go so i could send a courier to pick up from you if you are sure you want to sell
regards
jan
_________________________
jan

Top
#420625 - 04/28/16 08:12 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1476
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Hi Jan - replied to your email and thats fine. I thought you were in Essex but I see now you are in York but if you can organise a courier thats great. You have my email address I see.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#421064 - 05/07/16 05:42 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
Mike Aviv Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 25
I have both units sitting above each other the kn7000 on top and kn2600 bellow, only recently (after 5 years) I have started playing the kn2600 and found it to be a very nice keyboard, the speaker sound is a bit mellow from the kn7000, I like to load the sounds and patterns from SD cards I purchased from Strawberry and KN7000.net and they sound very close on both units. As far as giging I have not used either one with external PA or speakers so I can not be a fair judge, I still use my kn1000 since I have a lot of songs and patterns saved into floppies, I would like to convert them for the kn7000 but have no idea where to start.

Top
#421819 - 05/30/16 08:08 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: Mike Aviv]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1476
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Hello Mike
Transfer your Kn1000 settings to floppy and then use them straight away in the KN7000. They are compatible models.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#422590 - 06/26/16 07:59 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: RMepstead]
Mike Aviv Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 25
Are you sure, let me understand correctly, I can load my floppies from KN1000 and they will load and play on the KN7000, do you have a KN1000 and did you tried this?

Top
#422616 - 06/27/16 09:27 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1476
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Hi Mike. Yes unless my memory serves me badly. With the exception of the KN2000 all of the Technics keyboards were designed to pass their style files on up the range (compatibility) but not the other way...so for example you can pass Kn7000 style files to the KN2600 and KN2400 but you cannot pass the KN2600 and KN2400 style files backwards to the KN7000.
I can remember downloading KN1000 style files from Gunnar Jonny's web site and using them in my KN7000. However memory fades with age...chuckle, and someone else might be able to contradict me.
Only one other thing I would add, and that is when taking style files from the KN1000, or any other earlier Technics keyboard such as the KN3000 or KN5000, it is important to first transfer them in the KN1000 to memory load 'A' because that is what is being saved to floppy disk.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#422632 - 06/27/16 01:51 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: RMepstead]
Mike Aviv Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 25
Thank you Roger I will give it a tray.

Top
#422756 - 06/30/16 03:01 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: Mike Aviv]
designserve Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi Guys,

KN7000 can load KN2000, KN3000, KN1400, KN1500, KN5000, KN6000 and KN6500. This applies to Composer, Sequencer, Panel Memory, Sound Memory and Pads.

In order to load KN1000 files you would load them into a KN2000 or KN3000, then save them as KN2000 or KN3000 files... and then load the resulting converted files into KN7000.

This is my interpretation from the manuals I haven't tried it myself but I think John Dawson can confirm because I believe that he's carried out this process (he's offline for a few days).

Best wishes,
Mike
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
#422768 - 06/30/16 06:03 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: designserve]
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2275
Loc: Richmond,North Yorkshire, UK
You are absolutely correct Mike... KN1000 files will not load directly into a KN7000. I had this problem a few years ago and my solution was to send the KN1000 files to a friend who had a copy of 'EMC Styleworks' and he converted the files for me.
If my memory serves me correctly it was Gunnar Jonny who kindly did the conversion for me....

Top
#422776 - 07/01/16 01:17 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1476
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Thanks chaps...like I say memory fades.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#422855 - 07/02/16 09:00 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: Bill Norrie]
Mike Aviv Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 25
I think that you are right otherwise I would have tried this, it's either save them first to KN2000 (which I don't have), and then load into the KN7000, or use EMC program. I would love to convert my playbacks from the KN1000 to the KN7000 than I can use the KN2600 for gigs since is not as heavy as the KN7000, and be able to load stuff from SD cards.

Thanks

Mike Aviv

Top
#422856 - 07/02/16 09:14 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: Mike Aviv]
designserve Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi Mike,

EMC Styleworks will convert Styles (CMP) but not Sequences. If they are just Styles I'll convert them for you. If they are Sequences we'll need a friendly KN2000 owner. Not sure if the KN3000 would load them and my KN2000's disk drive is not working. Now, saying that, I have a KN901 that should be able to convert them. If you reply to this post attaching one I'll see what I can do.

Best wishes,
Mike
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online