SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#422590 - 06/26/16 07:59 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: RMepstead]
Mike Aviv Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 25
Are you sure, let me understand correctly, I can load my floppies from KN1000 and they will load and play on the KN7000, do you have a KN1000 and did you tried this?

Top
#422616 - 06/27/16 09:27 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1478
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Hi Mike. Yes unless my memory serves me badly. With the exception of the KN2000 all of the Technics keyboards were designed to pass their style files on up the range (compatibility) but not the other way...so for example you can pass Kn7000 style files to the KN2600 and KN2400 but you cannot pass the KN2600 and KN2400 style files backwards to the KN7000.
I can remember downloading KN1000 style files from Gunnar Jonny's web site and using them in my KN7000. However memory fades with age...chuckle, and someone else might be able to contradict me.
Only one other thing I would add, and that is when taking style files from the KN1000, or any other earlier Technics keyboard such as the KN3000 or KN5000, it is important to first transfer them in the KN1000 to memory load 'A' because that is what is being saved to floppy disk.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#422632 - 06/27/16 01:51 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: RMepstead]
Mike Aviv Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 25
Thank you Roger I will give it a tray.

Top
#422756 - 06/30/16 03:01 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: Mike Aviv]
designserve Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi Guys,

KN7000 can load KN2000, KN3000, KN1400, KN1500, KN5000, KN6000 and KN6500. This applies to Composer, Sequencer, Panel Memory, Sound Memory and Pads.

In order to load KN1000 files you would load them into a KN2000 or KN3000, then save them as KN2000 or KN3000 files... and then load the resulting converted files into KN7000.

This is my interpretation from the manuals I haven't tried it myself but I think John Dawson can confirm because I believe that he's carried out this process (he's offline for a few days).

Best wishes,
Mike
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
#422768 - 06/30/16 06:03 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: designserve]
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2275
Loc: Richmond,North Yorkshire, UK
You are absolutely correct Mike... KN1000 files will not load directly into a KN7000. I had this problem a few years ago and my solution was to send the KN1000 files to a friend who had a copy of 'EMC Styleworks' and he converted the files for me.
If my memory serves me correctly it was Gunnar Jonny who kindly did the conversion for me....

Top
#422776 - 07/01/16 01:17 AM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: kozykeys]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1478
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Thanks chaps...like I say memory fades.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#422855 - 07/02/16 09:00 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: Bill Norrie]
Mike Aviv Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/02/05
Posts: 25
I think that you are right otherwise I would have tried this, it's either save them first to KN2000 (which I don't have), and then load into the KN7000, or use EMC program. I would love to convert my playbacks from the KN1000 to the KN7000 than I can use the KN2600 for gigs since is not as heavy as the KN7000, and be able to load stuff from SD cards.

Thanks

Mike Aviv

Top
#422856 - 07/02/16 09:14 PM Re: kn2600 v kn7000 [Re: Mike Aviv]
designserve Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi Mike,

EMC Styleworks will convert Styles (CMP) but not Sequences. If they are just Styles I'll convert them for you. If they are Sequences we'll need a friendly KN2000 owner. Not sure if the KN3000 would load them and my KN2000's disk drive is not working. Now, saying that, I have a KN901 that should be able to convert them. If you reply to this post attaching one I'll see what I can do.

Best wishes,
Mike
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online