SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#403380 - 06/13/15 01:52 AM Ketron SD7 ...my experience.
jdx Offline

Loc: Liverpool U.K.
I felt I should pass on my experience after purchasing an SD7.

First an foremost let me say that sound wise and interface wise
the keyboard is really really good.
The style modelling function is easy to use and you can make a style to your own liking to suit a particular song very easily.
The sliders and controls are well placed and the screen icons very cool.

Now the bad news: I sent it back and got a refund!

I am a gigging musician and my number one priority is reliability and
up to now have been using Tyros 4 (very reliable) but never been totally happy with the drums (also the interface is a bit outdated)

I had the SD7 just under two weeks and in that time it locked up on me at least four times.
On another occasion after making an edit and restarting... the sound went off completely and I could not get it back on.

I also found other bugs in the operating system but one of my main gripes was not a fault .... just an omission.
The four one touch voices cannot remember volume or octave settings when you save a registration....for me this was an important feature.

Plus any of you who are looking at the demo's of the multi tracking where you can take out any part of a song (guitar/vocal etc) this is only possible if you purchase special multi track wav files.
I think Ketron need to make this clear to any prospective buyers as everyone who I have spoken to thought you could do this with "any" wav file.

Finally the manual is built into the keyboard and on a usb stick that directs you to a web page on the internet.
It is not in my opinion nearly comprehensive enough to help the end user and has not been translated very well.