SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#401095 - 04/03/15 07:45 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
katrina Offline
Member

Registered: 10/16/05
Posts: 46
Loc: Colchester, UK
Hi Roger,

Is that on a Saturday? (If so, which one?)

Roger, could you tell me which computer model you have? I've asked Mike the same question. I desperately need to find one that can load MP3 or AAC onto the actual kn7000 so I can synchronise with midi. (This was one of the reasons I upgraded from my kn6500 !)


Edited by katrina (04/03/15 07:50 PM)

Top
#401097 - 04/03/15 11:05 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
designserve Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi Katrina,

The model number is 23-m210ea and here's the support page for my machine:

http://support.hp.com/gb-en/product/HP-E...7/product-info/

I use the built-in card reader and the Panasonic one works too.

It has two USB 2 ports and two USB 3 ports. Some 'Technics' things don't work with the USB 3, such as the MIDI drivers. I can't find my Panasonic reader at the moment to test whether that could be your problem if you have USB 3 on the tablet.

Good luck!
Mike



Edited by designserve (04/03/15 11:06 PM)
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
#401103 - 04/04/15 06:35 AM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1478
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Katrina I finally gave up on SD JUkebox because of it's lack of ability to work with more recent PC systems. I now use an ipad and keep all my backing track MP3s on there from which I play through the KN7000. I have found that it is more/completely reliable too, which MP3s through Sd Card sometimes wasn't.
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#401110 - 04/04/15 08:42 AM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1478
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
The Festival goes on all week starting on 17th April (Friday) and finishing a week later - here's some details: http://www.keyboard-cavalcade.co.uk/inde...ing-spectacular
In general the people attending go for the whole week but I think you will find that there is a one day visitors day somewhen during the week.
Secondly I have to admit that I was vaguely aware that you could synchronise mp3s through SD JUkebox with midi files but I've never got near to doing that and probably never will as I can't see any reason for it although I principally work with singers. My computer is an old secondhand desktop working with Vista v5 as I recall; and I think the whole issue of SD Jukebox working or not working is a mixture of which version of Windows in which machine and thus mighty complicated to replicate successfully - hence my moving over to ipad amplified through my KN7000/


Edited by RMepstead (04/04/15 08:43 AM)
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#401146 - 04/05/15 03:54 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2275
Loc: Richmond,North Yorkshire, UK
Hi Rog, Like you, on occasions where I wish to play an MP3 file through my KN7000, I gave up on SD Jukebox with all it's necessary 'pesky' check-in - check-out stuff and incompatibility with versions of Windows. It's so much easier to just use an MP3 player attached to the Line In ports on the KN7000....
_________________________
Willum

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is Music.
Aldous Huxley

Top
#401147 - 04/05/15 04:23 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
designserve Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi All,

I agree with both of you that channelling an mp3 player in is the easiest way to do thia.

However, if you use the SD Audio feature you can play along and record the results directly into the KN7000.

I find that a great way to do this is to use an mp3 with live drums and bass, record a little of your own backing over that and then use the results to play 'live' or to make a recording.

Katrina, you won't get great results if you want to use the rhythms in the KN7000. You can only synchronise the start of the track. So, your audio track has to be an exact 'beats per minute' in order to do that, otherwise it will run out compared with the KN7000s rhythms.

So, in practise you choose a backing track that has drums on it... or rather, to clarify, the timing of the performance has to come from the backing track, not from the KN7000. Use the KN7000 to layer over the top of the track.

Both methods have their place it depends what you're trying to achieve but if you're using SD-Audio back up your SD Card regularly. KN-SDExplorer backs up the SD Audio tracks but remember that it can only restore them to the SD Card they were backed-up from due to the unwarranted copy restrictions.

And, as an aside, use SD Favorites to load your sequences, it saves lots of fiddling about searching for the right sequence.

Cheers,
Mike
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
#401149 - 04/05/15 04:36 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
katrina Offline
Member

Registered: 10/16/05
Posts: 46
Loc: Colchester, UK
Hi Bill & Roger,

Yes, I agree, much easier to plug in an iPhone to play MP3s through the keyboard speakers. But I really fancied trying to amalgamate an MP3 with a midi file. I needed to add some vocal lines that could be muted or played at different volumes to help my choir learn their various parts (we sing in parts and some of them need help in the early stages). Also I like to add various instruments etc.

However, I've just tried this new technique on my old wonky XP laptop (which can see the SD OK) and it won't transfer files off the laptop hard drive into Jukebox (2.4 or 5). I think (if I remember correctly from a year ago) I managed to get an MP3 to load onto the KN7 but that was from a CD. Annoying that I have to make a CD just to load on one song! It really is a terrible piece of software, isn't it! When I have time I'll try again as I'm really interested to see if i can synchronise MP3's with midi on the keyboard. For me that would be useful. The midis that I make are often quite complicated i.e. all the parts can't be played live with the MP3 - and anyway I'm too busy waving my hands about, or teaching them the moves when we choreograph things! And I like to be able to really listen & pay full attention to the singers. So in the past I've just done midi accompaniments and recorded into Garageband as Audio tracks. Have managed to mix, copy & paste sections etc in Garageband in order to make different learning CD's for the various singing parts, and even dubbed on instructions for moving about.

But I do wish they had taken it further and improved Jukebox - and that I could use it with the Windows 8.1 Tablet that I bought specially for the keyboard software.

Re. the FESTIVAL, Roger, I shall be back in the throes of teaching at that time (including Saturday). But will have to see if I can perhaps get there on the Sunday. Depends if hubby needs the car for his rehearsals as some idiot drove into his own perfectly good car and it's now written off (and too expensive to replace!)

Top
#401150 - 04/05/15 04:48 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: katrina]
designserve Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/14
Posts: 129
Loc: Wales, UK
Hi Katrina,

Is the program running ok? If so then it should transfer the files fine if your SD Reader is compatible.

Make sure you haven't missed a step somewhere. Here are the instructions for putting audio files on SD Card using SD Jukebox 2.4 http://technicskn7000.com/technics-instruments/sd-audio-sd-jukebox/

Cheers,
Mike
_________________________
Help to preserve information about Technics Keyboards.
http://TechnicsKN7000.com
http://KN7000.co.uk
http://TechnicsKeyboards.com
http://wsa1.technicskeyboards.com/
Currently playing: KN7000 KN6500 KN5000 KN3000 KN2000 KN1000 KN901 KN800 P50 WSA1 AX7 EX30

Top
#401151 - 04/05/15 05:05 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
katrina Offline
Member

Registered: 10/16/05
Posts: 46
Loc: Colchester, UK
Aha Mike!

SD AUDIO - that's interesting, Mike - Do I understand you correctly, can you live record extra tracks on the KN7 itself while feeding in the MP3 from the computer/tablet etc ? (And end up with the amalgam on the KN7?)

Also, once you've recorded yourself playing on the KN7, can you then overdub it with ADDITIONAL tracks afterwards? Or would you have to record it as audio onto the computer and then repeat the process.

Presumably you can't pre-record a midi file and hit play and record the MP3 simultaneously (assuming one could get them to start at the right time together) ?

Yes, with Jukebox input I was going to take the timing from the MP3 (though I've just downloaded the Amazing Slowdowner and would probably need to adjust the MP3 slightly first. I'm very pleased that the Amaz Slowdowner allows you to record the changed version onto a CD.)

Re the JUKEBOX. I shall be having another go at Jukebox next week, on my old troublesome XP laptop. Have also ordered the other available lead for the new Win 8.1 Tablet which I understand works better with USB2, though I'm not holding my breath on getting the Tablet working with Jukebox! I'm still contemplating sending off for an actual Win 8.1 HP laptop and sending back the tablet (though if I can't get the XP version to work, there's probably no point) And actually I can't really afford to get another laptop !!!! I have until the end of the month to decide about the Tablet.

Top
#401152 - 04/05/15 05:10 PM Re: SD Jukebox [Re: RMepstead]
katrina Offline
Member

Registered: 10/16/05
Posts: 46
Loc: Colchester, UK
PS I'm supposed to be having a load of family here for dinner for Easter Monday and this Keyboard Software thing means the house and garden will be a tip, and I'll be half asleep from all these 3am bedtimes. But I guess a few other people on Synthzone have also been working hard for their KN7000 !!!!!

Top
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online