SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#388770 - 05/09/14 02:19 PM OT - Anyone here using Free DOS?
Riceroni9 Offline

Loc: TX, USA
Hi Guys and Gals:

As most of you know, Microsoft has pulled support for Windows XP so I'm looking for alternatives to make use of an old Toshiba Laptop with a Celeron processor. I want to use this machine to contain an old DOS based Database called "Nutshell" or it's newer version, "NutPlus." My thinking is to use the database to keep up with my catalog of songs now approaching 1,000 written and recorded.

I'm tired of having to buy a new version of Windows (or Apple for that matter) everytime they decide to make the users pay for an upgrade (correction of their many mistakes) about every two or three years. I'd like to be free from this monopolistic tyranny, if possible.

My problem is that I'm no programmer and can't get the Toshiba and FreeDOS to recognize a USB floppy drive from Imation so I can use some of the programs and files I saved from years past. (This will save me tons of database setup and reconfiguration if I can just get these things to "shake hands" and let me go about my business.)

Any users out there who can provide clues or solutions to this little problem?

Thanks,

Dave Rice
ASCAP Songwriter

http://www.ShowCaseYourMusic.com/DaveRice/

#388773 - 05/09/14 03:28 PM Re: OT - Anyone here using Free DOS? [Re: Riceroni9]
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
It would most likely be safe to continue using XP unless you are doing a lot of surfing to websites or getting suspect email that may have viruses. For ordinary computing at home, there is no reason I know of not to use XP.
That doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about though!

#388776 - 05/09/14 04:08 PM Re: OT - Anyone here using Free DOS? [Re: Riceroni9]
Riceroni9 Offline

Loc: TX, USA
Hi Don: