SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#38572 - 03/14/04 01:09 PM Expansion Boards?
AnthonyCian Offline
Member

Registered: 04/26/03
Posts: 276
Loc: Arizona, USA
Say, I don't have a KN7000, and hear alot about these expansion Boards, for example SY-EW04. What is it exactly? I have the PR804, and wonder if it would be possible to get the sounds to it? Maybe not like it's done normally for the KN's, but is there a round about way?

Thanks,

Anthony

Top
#38573 - 03/14/04 03:27 PM Re: Expansion Boards?
R-F Offline
Member

Registered: 02/22/04
Posts: 119
Loc: Berlin/ Germany
Hi,
it will add complete new sounds. If your instrument is compatible, use the last opportunity to get it. Soon it's not available anymore.
It will not add polyphony.

------------------
Regards
RF
_________________________
Regards
RF

Top
#38574 - 03/14/04 09:37 PM Re: Expansion Boards?
AnthonyCian Offline
Member

Registered: 04/26/03
Posts: 276
Loc: Arizona, USA
That's what I'm asking. Like to know if these expansion boards are able to work on the PR804. How does it connect? Does the instrument need to have expansion board slots? If so, where would these be located? Or does this just require a cable connection of some kind?

Never gave it much thought until now and curious to know if this is just for the KN or can work with the PR804. Don't want to over look something that might be possible for the PR804. Even if it's a round about way of getting the sounds.

Anthony

[This message has been edited by AnthonyCian (edited 03-14-2004).]

Top
#38575 - 03/15/04 01:05 AM Re: Expansion Boards?
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 4625
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Anthony,
I don't think an expansion board can be added to the piano.
The kn7 has 4 slots built in, where you plug these boards into. ( ie I had to remove the underneath panel on the keyboard, plug the boards in , then put it back together.

Your manual should tell you if expansion boards are an option ( but unfortunately I doubt it).

The boards add new samples to the kn.

best wishes
rikki
[QUOTE]Originally posted by AnthonyCian:
[B]That's what I'm asking. Like to know if these expansion boards are able to work on the PR804. How does it connect?
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki

Korg PA3X, PSR S950, Band in a Box 2019
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#38576 - 03/15/04 03:17 PM Re: Expansion Boards?
AnthonyCian Offline
Member

Registered: 04/26/03
Posts: 276
Loc: Arizona, USA
Hi there Rikkisbears:
When you say manual which one? Owners or Reference?

I have a PDF file of the KN7000 owners manual and unless I overlooked it, nothing is mentioned about expansion boards.

I wonder who would know if the PR804 can handle expansion boards? If not, then are these sound samples capable of being saved in the sound memory thus saved as a TM file?

Anthony

Top
#38577 - 03/16/04 05:10 AM Re: Expansion Boards?
Bill Norrie Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/16/02
Posts: 2296
Loc: North Yorkshire
Hi Anthony, I think you are right about the lack of any mention of the Expansion boards in the KN7000 Manual. The only reference I can see, is the Selection button in the pictures of the front panel.
The sounds in the Expansion boards are in Wave Memory chips and are not transferrable. When the boards are installed in a KN7000 and an expansion sound selected, the operating system just 'Points' to the sounds stored in the wave ROM, on the boards, rather than the normal internal wave samples.

------------------
Willum
_________________________
Willum

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is Music.
Aldous Huxley
( especially when the music is played on a KN7000....)

Top
#38578 - 03/16/04 05:31 AM Re: Expansion Boards?
technicsplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/17/02
Posts: 3319
The expansion boards are on page 34 and 35 of the 7000 manual.

Simpler to look at the brochure... KN7000 brochure - expansion boards, PR804 brochure - no expansion boards. End of story.

Top
#38579 - 03/16/04 06:00 AM Re: Expansion Boards?
AnthonyCian Offline
Member

Registered: 04/26/03
Posts: 276
Loc: Arizona, USA
Thanks all for the answers.

Anthony

Top
#38580 - 03/19/04 07:27 AM Re: Expansion Boards?
Free Agent Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/10/04
Posts: 8
Loc: Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by AnthonyCian:
Like to know if these expansion boards are able to work on the PR804.
Anthony

[This message has been edited by AnthonyCian (edited 03-14-2004).]


Hi,

The answer is no. Unfortunately, there are no expansion slots for the 4 Technics wave expansion boards on the PR series.
These boards can be inserted only in KN6000/6500 (2 slots) and 7000 (4 slots)

Free Agent

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online