SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#38264 - 01/03/01 09:22 PM Vocal performance effects
Anonymous
Unregistered

I would greatly value your knowledge in the area of vocal effects for live performing or "home recording". I am a frustrated wanna -be singer with some wonderful sounds and some that I wish I didn't hear from my voice. I know nothing of any technical equipment and have little budget.
If you were to direct someone like me to equipment in mics and effects so I could create something interesting with the goods I possess, what would they be?

#38265 - 01/08/01 03:19 AM Re: Vocal performance effects
inocybe Offline

Loc: Belgium
You can do a lot of things to a voice but I'll try to put all devices in order of importance.

1. Mic (+plop screen) (I'm not an expert in this comparment and it's very important for vocals, seek some help with persons who know.)

2. Reverb: smooths out the voice, don't overdo it.

3. Compressor: Some compression and a noise gate will make your recordings sound better.

4.De-esser, or Parametric EQ to get rif of the sssssssssssssssszzzzzzzzzz.

Some other, but not necesairry items: Vocoders (for those Robot type things and sounds à la underworld), Pitch shifters (those high voices and looow voices (daft punk ' teachers')), Auto-tune (to sound in tune if ya can't sing in tune (anything by the 'spicegirls')), vocal distortion, delays, flangers, ....etc...

#38266 - 01/26/01 11:40 AM Re: Vocal performance effects
Leon Offline

Loc: British Columbia