SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#359887 - 01/30/13 09:31 AM Balanced Demos and Recordings
Joesax Offline

Loc: Southern New Jersey
In a recent thread Diki mentioned his dislike for demos that favored the RH lead over the backing. I agree and also confess to doing that for quite awhile. As I have become more focused on creating a balanced recording I pay much more attention to this. It is so easy to push the RH volume up, even unconsciously. In my case I write and record my own material and want it to be as pro sounding as it can be. I am not a pro recording engineer so I am learning as I go. Mixing and balancing is difficult and I spend as much time doing it as I do writing and recording the work. Still not there yet but getting closer and I am much better than when I started. Here is a recent work I completed. It has an interesting backing and I wanted it to be heard throughout the work regardless of the lead so I spent a lot of time on the part volumes.

Joe

https://www.box.com/s/dwplh25ot2zdglfoq01l
Tyros 3, Motif XF6, Quad Amp/Pre-Amp/DAC, Quad Monitors, Tascam Digital Recorder

#359984 - 01/31/13 01:24 PM Re: Balanced Demos and Recordings [Re: Joesax]
Dnj Offline

Just got a chance to give a listen Joe headphone .....WTG!
nice job thanx for sharing you work!!! clap

#360044 - 02/01/13 07:40 AM Re: Balanced Demos and Recordings [Re: Dnj]
Joesax Offline

Thanks. I was beginning to think there wasn't much interest as no one replied. Some info: I use a Tyros 3 for the Flute, Trumpet and Sax leads. Everything else is from the Motif XF. I play and record live. No Sequencing so getting the mix balance right has to be done before recording.

Joe
Tyros 3, Motif XF6, Quad Amp/Pre-Amp/DAC, Quad Monitors, Tascam Digital Recorder

#360053 - 02/01/13 09:20 AM Re: Balanced Demos and Recordings [Re: Joesax]
Diki Offline

Loc: NW Florida
Nice Joe...