SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#33384 - 01/08/08 12:13 AM To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Hi AJ:
A few day ago I have bought the new Midjay Plus version 5.00 release.
I have problem with playing midi files and patterns.
For example the first factory pattern 12_8BALL from the Midjay Plus where the kick drum not playing clearly in Arrange D.
I think that fact is maybe the Midjay Plus have not enough polyphony or has an error of procesor for clear sound on drums track.
If I have load the pattern in to Midjay Plus and I hear that the kick drum on Arrange D sounds not clear, if I use edit the style and switch off the chord2 or chord3 the sound is clear.
Also I have try my midi file playing on Midjay Plus and also the sound from drums not playing good,
I hear some scratch and cut voices in kick drum, snare drum and others drums instruments.
On my Midjay Plus the snare, kick drums, crash cymbals , ect...sounds not good (sound is chocking)or very short.
I know that the midifiles sounded fine on old Midjay, because my friend give me a message that the midifile sounded fine on his old Midjay. I have tested the midi file on others Ketron, like SD-1, SD-2, X1 SD-5 and this midi file sounded fine.
Please give me a suggestion as to what is wrong and how to fix it. Is that hardware error or bug in software?
I know that the problem is not only on mine Midjay Plus, because I have received message from guy who living in Spain and he has also the same problem with his Midjay Plus. I don't know if Ketron Italy ignored my message ? ? ?
I'll be awaiting for your reply
Mariusz.

Top
#33385 - 01/23/08 09:26 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3274
Loc: Middletown, DE
This is very un-usual. Have you tried to reset/reload the OS found in the Hard drive? The operations you've discribed denote an unstable OS.
Thanks,
AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#33386 - 01/25/08 01:07 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Yes, I reload many times OS, but still the same. I have contact with about 25 persons who has Midjay Plus and the same problem is on all of new MJ+. On last week I was in Germany Music Store and test the new one MJ+, the same like on mine. If you have MJ+ please test it full. I have found many bugs in Operation System 5.0

Thanks,

Mariusz.

Top
#33387 - 02/08/08 05:04 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3274
Loc: Middletown, DE
We're working on a new OS that will offer some more enhancements to the Midijay Plus (per some of your requests) and address some issues currently being experienced. Please bare with us.
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#33388 - 03/01/08 05:31 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
Jerry T Offline
Member

Registered: 09/23/05
Posts: 973
Loc: Phila. 'burbs, Pa. USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Ketron_AJ:
We're working on a new OS that will offer some more enhancements to the Midijay Plus (per some of your requests) and address some issues currently being experienced. Please bare with us.


Any progress regarding a new Midjay Plus OS and about addressing the 'issues'?
Ciao,
Jerry

Top
#33389 - 03/18/08 02:36 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by Jerry T:
Any progress regarding a new Midjay Plus OS and about addressing the 'issues'?
Ciao,
Jerry



Hi Jerry

Just past fourth month and still nothing.

I'm distraught that Ketron engineers can't fix polyphony problem.

Ciao

Mariusz.

Top
#33390 - 04/24/08 01:14 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Hi AJ,
Can you check the Live Drums in Midjay Plus? Why Traditional 2 (Program change 77) is empty, don't hear any sounds ?
Next bug ? ? ?
Thanks,

Mario

Top
#33391 - 05/16/08 01:50 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by mario_pl:
Hi AJ,
Can you check the Live Drums in Midjay Plus? Why Traditional 2 (Program change 77) is empty, don't hear any sounds ?
Next bug ? ? ?
Thanks,

Mario



Hi AJ,

Could you answer for my question?

Thanks,

Mario.

Top
#33392 - 05/26/08 05:27 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by mario_pl:

Hi AJ,

Could you answer for my question?

Thanks,

Mario.


???

Top
#33393 - 06/05/08 11:50 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by mario_pl:
???


I don't believe that peoples from Ketron ignored my questions...

Top
#33394 - 06/10/08 03:36 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by mario_pl:
I don't believe that peoples from Ketron ignored my questions...


Does Ketron still exist ? ? ?

What about a many bugs in the new Midjay Plus?

Top
#33395 - 06/10/08 07:33 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2545
Loc: Ocala, FL USA
mario_pl
If I were you and I bought the Ketron from Ketron USA...I would just call them to get your help! Or to get AJ to help you?


Lee

[This message has been edited by leeboy (edited 06-10-2008).]
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#33396 - 06/11/08 01:21 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by leeboy:
mario_pl
If I were you and I bought the Ketron from Ketron USA...I would just call them to get your help! Or to get AJ to help you?


Lee

[This message has been edited by leeboy (edited 06-10-2008).]



Hi Lee

Thanks for your reply and inclination your help for me. I bought mine Midjay in Italy. Before I have somtimes contacts with guy from Ketron, but now he don't answer to me. Still today all Midjay Plus has many bugs. I have contact with others Midjay + users and the same, any reply.
I don't know what can I do? Trying write to Italy shop where I bougth mine, but any reply.
I'll wait a few day, if they don't reply I'll publish on all internet music sites a full list of bugs.
Mariusz.

Top
#33397 - 06/11/08 02:04 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2545
Loc: Ocala, FL USA
Mariusz,
I would CALL the place you got it and have THEM call Ketron Italy for you..
Tell them you want help/fixes or you want your money back!

You need to wake those folks up!
Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#33398 - 07/15/08 01:10 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3274
Loc: Middletown, DE
mario_pl

The live drums should work with the current OS for TRADITIONAL 2. What mode are you using your Midijay in?

As to the other problems you are expreincing, we have not been able to re-create it here. Can you please send me the midifile that is not working in your Midijayu Plus so I can test here with our Midijay Plus and see exactly what is happening? Send the Midifile to ... tech@ketron.com and I will get back to you ... error could be in the Midifile too.
Thanks,
AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#33399 - 11/04/08 12:23 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by Ketron_AJ:
mario_pl

The live drums should work with the current OS for TRADITIONAL 2. What mode are you using your Midijay in?

As to the other problems you are expreincing, we have not been able to re-create it here. Can you please send me the midifile that is not working in your Midijayu Plus so I can test here with our Midijay Plus and see exactly what is happening? Send the Midifile to ... tech@ketron.com and I will get back to you ... error could be in the Midifile too.
Thanks,
AJ


Just I sent to you the midis as examples.
Thanks,
Mario.

Top
#33400 - 12/01/08 12:14 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Again any reply. Why???



[This message has been edited by mario_pl (edited 12-01-2008).]

Top
#33401 - 12/10/08 12:56 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Hi AJ,
Please Play the HITS_PCH56.mid in the Midjay Plus.
Press EDIT button choose GM part press Enter and look on VOICE.
It's unsuitable voice on display, you'll see the GRAND but should be set to HITS.
Also if you would like set manualy in EDIT mode as HITS this is not the HITS voice but this is CORALE voice.

Next example of Symphonic.mid, where I use Control Change 00, value =10 and Program Change value=48
This midifile should sounds like Symphonic but sounds like HITS
Maybe it help solve the problem.

The midifile monitor.mid with lyrics.
1. Load the file into Midjay Plus
2. Connect External VGA Monitor
3. Look on Midjay Display and VGA external Monitor
How solve the problem?

HITS_PCH56.mid http://www.speedyshare.com/443765729.html

Symphonic.mid http://www.speedyshare.com/617658598.html

monitor.mid http://www.speedyshare.com/514836115.html

Thank you very much for your hepl.

Mario

[This message has been edited by mario_pl (edited 12-10-2008).]

Top
#33402 - 12/13/08 11:10 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3274
Loc: Middletown, DE
mario_pl,

This issue has been fixed in the latest OS. Please download this from our latest OS (www.ketron.it).

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#33403 - 12/14/08 11:36 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Quote:
Originally posted by Ketron_AJ:
mario_pl,

This issue has been fixed in the latest OS. Please download this from our latest OS (www.ketron.it).

Thanks,

AJ


I have installed the latest OS, but still the same.
Please try the examples on your MJ+

Thanks,

Mario.

Top
#33404 - 12/25/08 01:25 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2545
Loc: Ocala, FL USA
Based on this thread...sure don't think I want a MidJay+.....
Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#33405 - 12/25/08 06:22 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
--Mac Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/08
Posts: 307
Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
I'd need more data than the single complaint.


Problem with forumboards is that you generally only hear from those having problems.

That is not to take away from their problem, if you can't get out of something what it is supposed to do it never is a good thing.

But people who have equipments and no problems usually aren't bothering with forums nor posting, so it always makes the skinny on ANY product look like it ain't working when you lurk forums such as these.

One or two malfunction reports has to be taken in context with how many units of a product have been sold, knowmean?


--Mac
_________________________
"Keep listening. Never become so self-important that you can't listen to other players. Live cleanly....Do right....You can improve as a player by improving as a person. It's a duty we owe to ourselves." --John Coltrane

"You don't know what you like, you like what you know. In order to know what you like, you have to know everything." --Branford Marsalis

Top
#33406 - 12/27/08 12:15 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
Many persons don't use full option from Midjay Plus. If you use this unit only for playing mp3 files you don't see any bugs. I know many peoples who has the same problem like on mine. On many keyboards forums you also found many messages about bugs in MJ+

Thanks,

Mario.

Top
#33407 - 12/27/08 05:59 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
miden Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 3353
Loc: The World
Another failing, for something widely and loudly touted as a multi file player, is that registrations OR styles cannot be included in a playlist. So if you want to play a song at a show using a style, you have to first save a registration and then go madly scrambling around to find it between songs!!! Not good.

You also CANNOT link songs (SMF WAV MP3) to a registration, that in itself is a MAJOR oversight by Ketron.

Looks like Korg are the only company to allow a FULL listing of all file types to be included in their Songbook and set list sub function.

On the Korg you can link anything to everything and a song listing can include WHATEVER resources are in use.

The G70 is certainly well behind on this type of functionality, as is the Ketron Midjay.

From the looks of it, it will only be the PA series and the new Audya that will do the full job for a user.

Should never have sold off my PA2x...Anyway live an learn.

To the posters above, you do know there is OS 5.2A available?

It may fix some of those issues, because I am using it and I have not noticed those issues, so maybe the latest OS is the way to go.

Dennis

[This message has been edited by miden (edited 12-27-2008).]

Top
#33408 - 12/28/08 09:09 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
mario_pl Offline
Member

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 32
Loc: Poland
I have installed latest OS 5.2C and still the same. The new release not fix this bugs.
Anyway, thank you for your reply.
Happy New Year 2009 to all

Mario.

Top
#33409 - 12/29/08 04:16 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2545
Loc: Ocala, FL USA
Ketron...too much wine...not enough work?
Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#33410 - 12/29/08 05:20 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
--Mac Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/08
Posts: 307
Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Lee, do you own and use any Ketron products at all?
_________________________
"Keep listening. Never become so self-important that you can't listen to other players. Live cleanly....Do right....You can improve as a player by improving as a person. It's a duty we owe to ourselves." --John Coltrane

"You don't know what you like, you like what you know. In order to know what you like, you have to know everything." --Branford Marsalis

Top
#33411 - 01/01/09 08:32 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2545
Loc: Ocala, FL USA
SD2 (comming next week)...I keep hoping some day to get something bigger from Ketron, but until I see much better customer suport in the USA, NOT going to do it. Interested in Audya, like many others.

At least with the SD2 if I get discouraged by lack of support, decide to sell it, not much $$ is lost.

Lee
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#33412 - 01/01/09 03:01 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
leeboy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/09/04
Posts: 2545
Loc: Ocala, FL USA
Mac,
Here's another great example of the stuff that bothers me.
http://www.pgmusic.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=209165&page=0&fpart=1&vc=1&nt=2

Can this guy (could be me tommorrow?) call Ketron ANYWHERE to get the help he needs???

Lee

[This message has been edited by leeboy (edited 01-01-2009).]
_________________________
Lee S.

Top
#33413 - 01/01/09 08:29 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
--Mac Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/08
Posts: 307
Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Since you posted the link to that thread, you should know that I've been dead in the middle of it from the beginning.

And you should also know that it is a DEALER problem.

His girlfriend bought it for him on Ebay.

You should also know that the owner tried to do an update to the rom, which comes with a warning message.

Still, Ketron Italy sells to this dealer, who apparently is in Canada, and they are in the loop to try to help this fellow out.

He is just going to have to do the sendback and pay the shipping as it stands now. That may change with time, too.

Meanwhile, this is ONE problem out of how many SD2 users out there?


--Mac
_________________________
"Keep listening. Never become so self-important that you can't listen to other players. Live cleanly....Do right....You can improve as a player by improving as a person. It's a duty we owe to ourselves." --John Coltrane

"You don't know what you like, you like what you know. In order to know what you like, you have to know everything." --Branford Marsalis

Top
#33414 - 01/01/09 10:50 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5748
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Lee,
you decided to get one.
For the size of it, they're an amazing little unit. hasn't quite got the quality of sound of my SD1+, but still pretty good. i think I've updated mine twice so far without any problems. Bit nervous about doing this one, I heard of another one going dead after updating. Mines well & truly out of warranty.

Your PA2X will make a great controller for it.
BTW did you get my email a couple of days ago. I was too busy to log on since before xmas . haahaa.
best wishes
rikki

Quote:
Originally posted by leeboy:
SD2 (comming next week)...I keep hoping some day to get something bigger from Ketron, but until I see much better customer suport in the USA, NOT going to do it. Interested in Audya, like many others.

At least with the SD2 if I get discouraged by lack of support, decide to sell it, not much $$ is lost.

Lee
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

SX900, P121 Piano, Band in a Box 2020
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#33415 - 01/19/09 09:19 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
bobsynth Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/09/99
Posts: 30
Loc: Berlin, MD
Hi. This is Bob, the founder of the Solton club. I Love my Midjay. Been using it since it first came out. I got more gigs when I started using this unit. It is just great. BTW, I am selling my back up system. It is an MS40,with Midi Bass Pedals, Volume Pedal, FS13 programmable pedal switches,
along with tons of patterns and midis and the manual on Disc. It is scheduled to be listed on EBay 1/21, if anyone is interested.
Bob Hughes
bobhughres13@mchsi.com

Top
#33416 - 01/20/09 03:23 AM Re: To the attention of AJ
Nedim Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/13/08
Posts: 1144
Loc: Staten Island, NYC
I agree with Mac in here, on the forums the
complaints are only from the Complainrs or
people that dont know how to use the machine.
And then everything gets bad feedback.
_________________________
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.

Top
#33417 - 01/20/09 03:06 PM Re: To the attention of AJ
--Mac Offline
Member

Registered: 05/16/08
Posts: 307
Loc: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Well, that's not exactly what I tried to say.

Someone could indeed have a broken unit.

But we have to realiZe that it would represent only one broken unit out of how many out there that are working just fine.

Forums are here for solving problems, therefore we tend to see mostly only the problems on forums such as these.

Someone who is enjoying a fully functioning unit is not very likely to seek out a forum and make post just to tell us that, right?

But I won't second-guess the person with the complaint either. These kind of situations can be a lot more frustrating if it were happening to YOUR midjay.


--Mac
_________________________
"Keep listening. Never become so self-important that you can't listen to other players. Live cleanly....Do right....You can improve as a player by improving as a person. It's a duty we owe to ourselves." --John Coltrane

"You don't know what you like, you like what you know. In order to know what you like, you have to know everything." --Branford Marsalis

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online