SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#332735 - 10/20/11 07:55 AM check sum error?
necdetdoni Offline
Member

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 347
Loc: Antalya / Turkey
today i tried to check sum test in my Audya and i get KetA05 error..what can i do for fix it?

Top
#332736 - 10/20/11 08:44 AM Re: check sum error? [Re: necdetdoni]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3944
Why did you do the check, do you have any problems with the KB


Tony
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#332742 - 10/20/11 02:32 PM Re: check sum error? [Re: necdetdoni]
necdetdoni Offline
Member

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 347
Loc: Antalya / Turkey
Yes.i have problem with balance of outputs..right output sound is low and left is brillant than right..i use seperate outputs but same; all rights are low then lefts.i opened rear of KB and checked all sockets and sliders.but nothing happened...i will try to reinstall OS or first sound upgrade usb stick..i will make a record from kb than put in the web..you will hear the problem..anyway, have a solution for checksum error?

Top
#332750 - 10/20/11 08:10 PM Re: check sum error? [Re: necdetdoni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3308
Loc: Middletown, DE
necdetdoni,

If you have a Checksum error, perform the following to reload the FLASH in that particular chip (which for some reason has gone 'bizar').

* Turn on your AUDYA.
* When it boots, press DISK to display the HD contents.
* Create a TEMP folder where you will be copying files into (shown below).
* After creating the TEMP folder, Scroll down to the file "9708f1av00.sam and press ENTER to load it. This prepares AUDYA to load the relative FLASH file next.
* When done, to to the SYSTEM folder and press enter (aknoledge warning by pressing ENTER again).
* Select the FACTORY folder and press ENTER.
* Select the SOUND folder and press ENTER.
* Go to the file "Audb0600.PCM" and highlight. [This is the file associated with the KetA05 chip]. Press DISK MENU and press ENTER to select this file (blue dot next to it).
* Press COPY (F1) to copy this file.
* Go back to temp folder created above and press EXECUTE to paste this file in there.
* Get out of DISK mode.
* Go back into disk and go into the TEMP folder to highlight and press ENTER on this file "Audb0600.PCM" to load it.
* When done, restart AUDYA.

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#332751 - 10/20/11 09:43 PM Re: check sum error? [Re: Ketron_AJ]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3944
AJ,

This is the first time I have seen this procedure and there a lot of people who have had problems with volume problems and Int Phase error, is this an official procedure and if so why have Ketron not issued this. Also it appears complex for someone whose first language is not English, would it be possible to do a YouTube clip for it and then anyone could follow it. And why is this flash going bizar as you say??

Regards Tony

PS This sounds a bit odd, that file Audb0600.PCM is for Chip 05, only Ketron could come up with something like that, presume Audb0000.PCM is for chip 01, this is what you said below:

"Go to the file "Audb0600.PCM and highlight. [This is the file associated with the KetA05 chip]. Press DISK MENU and press ENTER to select this file (blue dot next to it)."
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#332754 - 10/20/11 10:52 PM Re: check sum error? [Re: necdetdoni]
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3308
Loc: Middletown, DE
Tony,

As I have stated before, and I will mention again, I work with and for Ketron on various projects as an Engineer and one heavily involved with the GUI, design and code of our products, so from a design prospective this is information I ought to know ... so yes, this is an official procedure (which you may verify by contacting us at ketron@ketron.it if you wish to get more info on).

I have not made this available because this is the first time I am seeing a customer of ours complain of a 'Checksum' error! It's best to provide detailed 'engineering' information only when needed - else you may end up with a lot of people 'experimenting' with thier products and then getting back to us for solutions to problems that could have been initially avoided all together. I believe however, that we have provided our distributors with this information to use when/if needed.

Mind you, this procedure mentioned above is NOT for 'Init Phase error' correction (which is related to the Hard Drive or Sound board) but for the Checksum error the customer above was requesting assistance with.

I don't know why 'his' flash went bizar but there are a couple of environmental factors that could make a flash memory 'forget' it's contents and he could have encountered one of such ... I don't know for a fact and won't speculate either.

The file - 'Audb0000.pcm' is infact for KetA02.

Hope this answers your questions/concerns, and let me know if I can help you with any others.

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#332760 - 10/21/11 05:42 AM Re: check sum error? [Re: necdetdoni]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3120
Very well said AJ

it's tough to make Tony happy. smile

Top
#332769 - 10/21/11 10:29 AM Re: check sum error? [Re: leezone]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3944
Leezone,

I am easy to please, I don't like been drip fed information, if there are problems and people know the answers and people are struggling with kit, there needs to be full discovery and disclosure. Why is flash memory falling over, I have never heard of anything that is so unstable, it's like Miscrosoft 3.00, why are so many people frightened of turning on their Audyas, will it work won't work and if it doesn't who shall I turn to. Leezone, don't quote me look at the people with problems, it might be you next week and me the week after.

And this is more confusing there is no logic to this "The file - 'Audb0000.pcm' is infact for KetA02.


AJ is it possible for you type out the full list, which pcm is for which chip just in case our KB goes Hyper!


AJ what could these be "I don't know why 'his' flash went bizar but there are a couple of environmental factors that could make a flash memory 'forget' it's contents and he could have encountered one of such ... I don't know for a fact and won't speculate either.

Are the Audya electronics sturdy enough for World Wide power supplies, is there a pattern for these probelms???


Regards

Tony

_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
#332778 - 10/21/11 03:08 PM Re: check sum error? [Re: necdetdoni]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
Don't forget Tony - on SZ you are stumbling across a tiny, tiny % of Audya owners - those that don't post here are too busy enjoying a fully fuctional instrument. Believe it or not SZ is not the center of the universe.

All the checksum test does is makes sure the sizes are correct, if the size (checksum) is wrong it is corrupt and will need reloading from the hard drive.

Its standard practice (in the UK anyway) to ask a customer to run the test if they have a suspected issue. As AJ says it is very rare for an error to occur, I have only seen it happen once in the UK.

The reason for not posting the information publically is because we do not want people poking around in the system folder without good cause..If its not broke...don't fix it.

Top
#332785 - 10/21/11 11:49 PM Re: check sum error? [Re: Tonewheeldude]
Tony Hughes Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 3944
TWD,

As you know I am not stupid, well nearly not, I don't have a tweek out of my Audya, there were problems in the early days but that is now all behind us. But there are still people with the same age old problems, INT PHASE ERROR, left and right side sound not working and people running CSUM with miss correct match. There must also be other people who are not on SZ who have the same problems, I can't believe they are only SZ users. TWD all I am saying is this, if there are quick fixes like a car known often occurring problems that the Ketron and AJ appear to know about that can help someone why is it not common knowledge. You know of all people TWD, in this day and age no one and I mean no should be able to damage a PC throught the keyboard (save for format drive "C") and likewise no one should be able to damage their musical KB loading or unloading software, they should be bomb proof, I have a Tyros 4 and I know of nothing that Yamaha would not tell you not to do. An update for a fix would be on the Web as and when you need it. I see the problem with Ketron is you are allowed to wander anywhere into the system files and this is where people go into stupid mode. With damaged flash there should be a simple routine, a press of a button 3 times with some warning to reload the flash, I am not even certain if you need any warning loading flash back on should be childs play. BTW is the process AJ is suggesting to this chap correct to reload one chip and is this what he should be doing, the KB has just come back from the dealer.

Regards

Tony
_________________________
Tyros 4/Pair SR 350/ PC with a i8 intel chip, XENYX 802, Ford Focus 2 litre/Tascam DR07/Brother printer/Designjet 500/ our Doris/5 Grandchildren/ white boxers short Kymart shipped over and Typhoo Tea Earl Grey

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online