SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#329104 - 07/19/11 04:06 AM HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF
cakemog Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/10
Posts: 106
Hi all - a while back somebody suggested on this forum to run an SPDIF cable from the Audya SPDIF output to your soundcard SPDIF input for better digital recording quality. Just received my SPDIF cable and connected it to the above sockets - the Audya running a style and my stereo Sonar channel's inputs configured to SPDIF input, NO SIGNAL in Sonar?? Could somebody provide advice on how to do this, please.
Thanks, Carl

Top
#329111 - 07/19/11 06:10 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
cakemog Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/10
Posts: 106
Perhaps one of you Cubase guys have used an SPDIF cable between your Audya and sound card - it doesn't matter, I would be extremely grateful for any advice.
I can't figure out whether I need to change anything on the Audya, in OUTPUT ASSIGN inside MENU there's no selection possible for SPDIF. Does that mean that digital signals are permanently transmitted from the SPDIF OUT socket??
In Sonar I've tried both L & R SPDIF inputs as well as STEREO SPDIF on my stereo Audya channels - neither produces any signal.
The cable is a PRO quality SPDIF cable with phono/RCA plugs either end. I'm baffled. Carl

Top
#329118 - 07/19/11 07:45 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 5514
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
This is too simple, but I am sure you went to Menu/Utility and turned it on.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#329121 - 07/19/11 08:10 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
Dusan Offline
Member

Registered: 05/04/09
Posts: 559
Loc: Slovenija
Please forgive my ignorance,but what is SPDIF cable?

Top
#329123 - 07/19/11 08:39 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
cakemog Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/10
Posts: 106
Hi Bernie, thanks a lot for your reply - I'm still confused and can't figure out the complete sequence of key-strokes to get this working. If you have time I'd appreciate it if you tried again please, thanks.
Dusan, SPDIF is a DIGITAL cable - it conducts digital signals only which then need to be converted to audio in an A/D converter. Carl

Top
#329130 - 07/19/11 09:14 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
cakemog Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/10
Posts: 106
JUST WORKED IT OUT Bernie - it's MENU/KEYBOARD CONTROL/UTILITY/SPDIF (IN or OUT). Thanks again. Carl

Top
#329133 - 07/19/11 09:39 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1134
Loc: FRANCE
I was able to make the SPDIF working.

Look at this thread :

http://www.synthzone.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/324230/AUDYA_S_PDIF#Post324230
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#329147 - 07/19/11 11:34 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
cakemog Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/10
Posts: 106
DAN - many thanks for the link, all the extra info is very welcome. I now have a strong healthy signal in Sonar via MOTU 828 Mk II from my Audya SPDIF output.
Thanks to Sokratis and all who contributed info. Carl

Top
#329311 - 07/22/11 01:02 AM Re: HELP Please - Audya SPDIF to MOTU 828 SPDIF [Re: cakemog]
cakemog Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/10
Posts: 106
Unfortunately I still have a problem - crackling noise mixed in with the digital audio on my SPDIF signal. I find it impossible to tell whether it's coming from the Audya or whether it's a problem on my MOTU 828 Mk 2?? Anybody had any experience of this??
Did an Audya checksum test which brought up an ERROR:
F2 KET A02 86AC504E 88F51D49 ERROR
Ketron UK trying to help but no luck so far.
Did a factory reset on the MOTU - no better.
Frustrated since on hols and was going to do some recordings (loud scream)!!!! Carl

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Kerry, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online