SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#324916 - 05/25/11 10:17 AM Jazz Keyboard Harmony
montunoman Offline

Loc: Dallas, Texas
I had a few people send me PM asking about jazz chord voicings. Sorry I don't have the ability to send out pdf of the voicings that I use, but I highly recomend Phil de Greg's book "Jazz Keyboard Harmony." There are lots of good books which I studied on the subject but this one is by far my favorite. If interested in jazz harmony BUY Phil's book (don't ILLEGALLY down load it) He's a great pianist and teacher and needs to pay the bills just like us.

www.youtube.com/channel/UCV94i--V-A8kZShmGTKyDOw

https://www.facebook.com/elgrupocache

#324932 - 05/25/11 01:08 PM Re: Jazz Keyboard Harmony [Re: montunoman]
Scottyee Offline

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
Originally Posted By: montunoman
If interested in jazz harmony BUY Phil's book (don't ILLEGALLY down load it) He's a great pianist and teacher and needs to pay the bills just like us.
Montunoman Paul:
I agree. Contrary to statements made from a few forum members, most working musicians I know aren't rich, nor book multiple gigs, 7 days a week either.

In addition to Phil DeGreg's excellent "Jazz Keyboard Harmony" book, another equally excellent book on Jazz Piano, and which I can personally recommend is Mark Levine's "Jazz Piano Book".
I was fortunate enough to study with Mark Levine when he was writing the book, so lucky to be among his guinea pig students. grin
Interestedly enough, I only had to walk two blocks from my house to his for piano lessons. cool

#324935 - 05/25/11 01:43 PM Re: Jazz Keyboard Harmony [Re: Scottyee]
ianmcnll Offline

Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Originally Posted By: Scottyee

Originally Posted By: montunoman
If interested in jazz harmony BUY Phil's book (don't ILLEGALLY down load it) He's a great pianist and teacher and needs to pay the bills just like us.
Montunoman Paul: