SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#32361 - 06/19/03 12:37 PM THE SD1 SAMPLER NOT 44.1 KHz
DAN.2000 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1109
Loc: FRANCE
Files saved or created by the SD1 Sampler are in 37.5 Khz... why this format???
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#32362 - 06/19/03 04:12 PM Re: THE SD1 SAMPLER NOT 44.1 KHz
necdetdoni Offline
Member

Registered: 05/20/03
Posts: 345
Loc: Antalya / Turkey
o ooooo...is it true? i will try...i think sd1 have big sampler problem...Aj please give answer for our questions....we deserve to know; couse we paid many many euros for this keyboard.. AJ please!!!!!

Top
#32363 - 06/20/03 03:47 AM Re: THE SD1 SAMPLER NOT 44.1 KHz
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
Dan,
hmmm...judging by ear I would say that even the internal sounds of the SD1 are NOT sampled at 44 kHz (not even at 37.5 kHz I might add...)
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
#32364 - 06/20/03 08:22 AM Re: THE SD1 SAMPLER NOT 44.1 KHz
DAN.2000 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1109
Loc: FRANCE
cause, I have big troubles to understand why the I lost a lot of time on the SD1 sampler, and after lost my hair,
I decided to see inside...
I'm computer ingeener in france, so I wanted to know why the SD1 not understand me...

First, why not all wav files are good played in the SD1?
I don't know if something was changed in OS versions, but I have always sounds from computer who sounds horrible if you leave key.

I think, no one in the KETRON staff are using this SAMPLER.
They must have a software to create them samples in another format... (.ins/.snd)

So, I created a sound in the sampler with micro in. I copy the file in the computer, and I see inside the file 37500 Hz.

This can explain another bug :
When I load a sound in 44100 Hz , it plays it always a semi tone down. SO if i want to play the sound in his original tonality, I must note KEY=C#3 and play C3.

I am testing a lot of things for understand the KETRON WAV file format and the KETRON MSP file format, and then, create a software tools to help us to create sounds...
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#32365 - 06/20/03 10:46 AM Re: THE SD1 SAMPLER NOT 44.1 KHz
dimu Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/07/03
Posts: 17
May be SD1 sampler has very big problems that need to be fixed. When I play certain tabla samples on the computer they sound very natural. But when the same samples were played on SD1 they don't sound that natural. I don't know exactly what are the differences, but they sound different (and computer sounds are more natural).
By the way, my computer is just a normal one without expensive sound cards or speakers. SD1 is a "professional keyboard", so, shouldn't its sampler create better sounds than my ordinary PC?

Another thing. Not only SD1 can load much less than 16GB of data, there is a limit on individual wave file sizes. For example, it cannot load a 300KB wave file. It says (something like) file size exceeds the limit.

-Dimu

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online