SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#320796 - 04/04/11 08:36 AM Advice needed for Midi Keyboard Purchase
hammer Offline

Loc: Texas
I have decided to buy the the new Roland Module and a midi keyboard to use with it. I need some very good advice and I thought I would get the opinions of others who have used midi keyboards.

I have NO EXPERIENCE with midi keyboards and when I have played with them at the store I did not understand all the controls. I prefer to buy a TOTL keyboard with good reliabilty.

All I need the controller to do is play through the Roland Module so I can use all the arranger features of the module. I prefer a light feel to the keybed, 61 keys, and it must be simple to setup and us.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Hammer

#320810 - 04/04/11 11:11 AM Re: Advice needed for Midi Keyboard Purchase [Re: hammer]
abacus Offline

Loc: English Riviera, UK
Hi Hammer

Don’t compare Midi keyboards with Arrangers as far as price goes

Essentially Midi Keyboards are dumb keyboards, where all the controls can be programed to do whatever you want them to do (The limitation will probably be on what the module can accept)

Cheaper models tend to have less programmable controllers compared to the more expensive ones

If you are just using the controls on the module for your performance, then you will only need a basic keyboard to output note, dynamic and after touch information (Pitch and modulation wheels are normally standard)

If you want to use the controls on the Midi Controller to control the module, you will need to look at the Midi implementation chart (At the back of the module manual) to see what it accepts.

Here is a basic introduction to Midi to get you started http://www.tweakheadz.com/how_to_get_started_with_midi.html have a good read of it, and you will then have a much better idea of what you actually want.

Hope this helps

Bill