SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#313159 - 01/19/11 09:34 PM Re: LIVE IN YOUR FACE DRUMS not Important anymore? [Re: Dnj]
Songman55 Offline

Loc: Baltimore, MD USA
Donny I agree with you but how many people are just using the styles as they are? Probably more than care to admit it. And if you've spent any time at all with Yamahas, you know the styles need reworking to really kick ass.

Joe

#313160 - 01/19/11 09:43 PM Re: LIVE IN YOUR FACE DRUMS not Important anymore? [Re: Dnj]
Dnj Offline

I understand that Joe ....I have been tweaking the Yamaha drums for many years to get them to my standards along with making the style as a whole sound the way I want.... but the actual sample is a big key to it also....... my point is that all of a sudden the live issue has been subdues drastically from a few months ago.

#313161 - 01/19/11 09:59 PM Re: LIVE IN YOUR FACE DRUMS not Important anymore? [Re: Dnj]
travlin'easy Offline

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
It takes just a few minutes to tune those drums and as Joe said, they'll blow you out of the room. There is a lot more to tuning than just turning up the volume. The attack, decay, EQ, etc..., they all have a significant impact. Once tuned, you have two options--save the information to a registration, or save it as a custom style. If you've downloaded the Black Velvet style I used for the song and fired it through your keyboard, that is a classic example. Additionally, tuning the global EQs has a significant effect on the drum sounds as well. You would be amazed at the number of performers I come across that have NEVER seen their EQ page, let alone set and saved them.

Cheers,

Gary cool

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

#313163 - 01/19/11 10:40 PM Re: LIVE IN YOUR FACE DRUMS not Important anymore? [Re: Dnj]
Dnj Offline

Edited by Dnj (01/19/11 10:43 PM)

#313220 - 01/20/11 11:57 AM Re: LIVE IN YOUR FACE DRUMS not Important anymore? [Re: Dnj]
vangelis Offline