SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#309928 - 07/23/06 08:03 PM Midi bass pedals
Scott Langholff Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 2959
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
I have some midi bass pedals and have considered using them. Is it possible to do that with LS or OMB. How might I go about that?

Top
#309929 - 07/24/06 05:31 AM Re: Midi bass pedals
Frank L. Rosenthal Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/18/00
Posts: 1007
Scott, yes it is. I use the Roland PK5 Bass Pedals to play bass for my organ performances, e.g., NI's B4II.

Again, I would use a host software with a sampler and direct it via channel and port to the appropriate bass voices. It works well!!!

[This message has been edited by Frank L. Rosenthal (edited 07-24-2006).]

Top
#309930 - 07/24/06 07:35 AM Re: Midi bass pedals
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4533
Loc: English Riviera, UK
The default channel when connecting a Midi pedal board is normally channel 3, so if you work on this, it should integrate with most instruments.
Hope this helps.

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#309931 - 07/24/06 02:12 PM Re: Midi bass pedals
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3827
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Very interesting.

I have B4II, and was thinking of getting a second controller anyway,for the lower manual, and have midi pedals.

Would I use my Midisport 2x2 ? What about the midi from the bass pedals ?

I have been using arrangers and USB too long. I have forgotten my midi basics I'm afraid.

Bernie
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#309932 - 07/24/06 10:57 PM Re: Midi bass pedals
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4533
Loc: English Riviera, UK
Hello Bernie
The 3 main default channels for keyboards/organs are usually. 1 = upper/right, 2 = lower/left and 3 = bass/pedal. (B4 follows the default channels)
Hope this helps.

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#309933 - 07/25/06 01:09 AM Re: Midi bass pedals
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3827
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Sorry
I meant the physical connections. I would have three midi-outs. I have an old thru box, or maybe midi-merge ?
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#309934 - 07/25/06 03:03 AM Re: Midi bass pedals
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4533
Loc: English Riviera, UK
Hello Bernie
What equipment are you using, and what midi connections are available on each unit. (IE the number of Midi In/Out/ thru sockets)
Also have a look at this link. http://web.archive.org/web/2001122405054...s/midicnct.html

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#309935 - 07/25/06 06:03 AM Re: Midi bass pedals
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3827
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I HAVE B4II in Receptor(in/out/thru). It also has 3 USB in's. This is in addition to the above external equipment.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#309936 - 07/25/06 01:42 PM Re: Midi bass pedals
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3827
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I did learn that I can use one USB and one midi-in into Receptor.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
#309937 - 07/25/06 09:56 PM Re: Midi bass pedals
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 4533
Loc: English Riviera, UK
Hi Bernie
The easiest way is to use a 3 in to 1 Midi Merge Box.
If you have a USB controller that is supported by receptor, then you will only need a Midi Merge Unit for the controllers that have just the Midi connections.
Hope this helps.

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#309938 - 07/26/06 02:05 PM Re: Midi bass pedals
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 3827
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Thanks alot, Bill.

I ordered a Midiman Merge 2x2. That will handle my two midi outs into 1 midi in. When I get my other controller, it will be USB for sure.

Bernie
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Centerpoint Space Station

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online