SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#30899 - 03/02/04 01:11 PM SD1 drum pattern editing
unholy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/02/04
Posts: 5
I have recorded about 80 drum patterns on the SD1 using the real time record.

Unfortunately the volumes are a little different, as tehy were recorded at different times.

Is it possible to edit these patterns and make all the volumes more similar (like step write editing on a drum machine) ?.


Also, when I copy for example patternA from a custom style to one of my own, the drums are much louder (and better) than the ones I recorded myself on B, C and D.

How can I get this sound on my patterns?

Thanks in advance for any help. I have a gig in two weeks, and hope to ditch teh flaky drum machine entirely!

Regards,

unholy

Top
#30900 - 03/02/04 11:53 PM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
Ferry Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/22/04
Posts: 7
Loc: Olomouc, Czech Republic
You need to edit Velocity Level for each Drum Instrument and its the best of all to do it with PC:
for Example
- Bass Drum Velocity between 120-127
- Hi-Hat Velocity about 100
- Snare Drum about 110
- Bongas about 80 ... and so on
(take as an Example one of your Best Patterns from SD1 Keyboard)
If you use Sonar or Cakewalk Sequencer, than its very simple and easy.

Quote:
Originally posted by unholy:
I have recorded about 80 drum patterns on the SD1 using the real time record.

Unfortunately the volumes are a little different, as tehy were recorded at different times.

Is it possible to edit these patterns and make all the volumes more similar (like step write editing on a drum machine) ?.


Also, when I copy for example patternA from a custom style to one of my own, the drums are much louder (and better) than the ones I recorded myself on B, C and D.

How can I get this sound on my patterns?

Thanks in advance for any help. I have a gig in two weeks, and hope to ditch teh flaky drum machine entirely!

Regards,

unholy

Top
#30901 - 03/04/04 06:58 AM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
unholy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/02/04
Posts: 5
Thanks for that. Ill look into changing the Velocity (I'm new to this).

Regarding the actual drum kit - the preset patterns (styles?) are much better quality. They really sound studio quality.

When I make a drum patten however, the quality of the sounds are not so good.

What confuses me, is that the pattern edit facility allows you to copy a drum pattern from a preset to a personal pattern. So lets say I write patterns for A, B and C, and copy a preset to D - Now I have 3 okayish drum patterns, and one amazing one. The quality of the drum sound is maintained even when copied to my pattern. So I'm assuming I can get these quality sounds too?

Top
#30902 - 03/04/04 08:27 AM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1035
Loc: FRANCE
You must use the same sounds witch Ketron uses in their styles !
And in the track Drum2 you must use a Live Drum Kit...

Record a midifile with your style, and see it with a computer sequencer and you will see how they do...
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
http://www.varranger.com

Top
#30903 - 03/08/04 01:25 PM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
unholy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/02/04
Posts: 5
Ok, but how do I use the live drum kit? Im having trouble understanding the manual.

Top
#30904 - 03/09/04 07:10 AM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1035
Loc: FRANCE
Go on pattern edit, record the Drum2 part
Go on DRUM SELECT, and go pages +++++
You will find the live drums
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
http://www.varranger.com

Top
#30905 - 03/09/04 10:03 AM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
unholy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/02/04
Posts: 5
Cool, thanks Dan.

Any suggestions for balancing the sounds of the patterns? Is PC software the best way, or does the keyboard provide some similar utility?

Top
#30906 - 03/12/04 07:05 AM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1035
Loc: FRANCE
I think we can't pan the drums as we want,
You can just pan all the track, or Pan the parts in the drum mixer but not individuals percs...
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
http://www.varranger.com

Top
#30907 - 03/12/04 07:25 AM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
unholy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/02/04
Posts: 5
Sorry Dan, I phrased my question badly. By balancing the patterns, I meant getting all the patterns to the same relative volume/velocity.

I hit the keys harder when recording some patterns, so sometimes when I go from one pattern to another, the drums become way too loud (or quiet).

Top
#30908 - 03/14/04 12:02 PM Re: SD1 drum pattern editing
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1035
Loc: FRANCE
oh ! ok
load any pattern, and go on the pattern arrange view, make your modifs, and press the Save buttun , and press STYLES
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
http://www.varranger.com

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online