SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#305408 - 01/15/00 06:18 PM Basic Midi setup
edmcl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/15/00
Posts: 10
Loc: Scotland
Help

I have linked a clavinova cvp 92 to a medium spec pc with SB Live! card and running Cakewalk Pro Audio v.7. I am unable to get the 2 devices to communicate. The software keeps waiting for the midi sync.

I have spent several hours modifying every parameter I can with no joy. Can anyone help/advise. This is my first attempt at midi transfer and it may be my last.

Thankfully

Ed

Top
#305409 - 01/16/00 03:14 AM Re: Basic Midi setup
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
Just so I know I understand you, you have the MIDI IN and OUT on the PC connected to the MIDI OUT and IN on the Clavinova. Are you trying to record MIDI using Cakewalk ? Cakewalk shouldn't be waiting for any sync in that case and would be running using the internal PC clock. If you are trying to record asn external sequence then Cakewalk should be in slave clock mode and once put in record mode, will wait for the external sequencer to start running and sending MIDI clock.

Top
#305410 - 01/16/00 06:08 PM Re: Basic Midi setup
freddynl Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/17/99
Posts: 1150
Loc: netherlands
Just to make it easy for you to try out or your devices are comunicating;
Go to windows - control panel - multimedia -
-midi - choose midi out as the midi output..
then load a standard midifile in the windows
mediaplayer and playback the midi.
(as you have a clavinova I suggest you load a straight piano file)
if no sound from your clavinova there's something wrong with your midi out.
You did not specify which SB live you have.. are you using the add on card with the mini-midioutputs ? or are you using the joystick/midi interface output???
Fred
_________________________
Keyboards/Sound Units: Kurzweil 2600S, Roland VR-760, Acces Virus C, Roland G-800, Akai AX60, Minimoog, Machine Drum, Roland R8-M, mediastation x-76

Top
#305411 - 01/17/00 04:30 PM Re: Basic Midi setup
edmcl Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 01/15/00
Posts: 10
Loc: Scotland
Quote:
Originally posted by freddynl:
Just to make it easy for you to try out or your devices are comunicating;
Go to windows - control panel - multimedia -
-midi - choose midi out as the midi output..
then load a standard midifile in the windows
mediaplayer and playback the midi.
(as you have a clavinova I suggest you load a straight piano file)
if no sound from your clavinova there's something wrong with your midi out.
You did not specify which SB live you have.. are you using the add on card with the mini-midioutputs ? or are you using the joystick/midi interface output???
Fred



Thanks for your reply.

I did as you suggested in control panel and played a midi file through windows media player. Nothing from the clavinova. Could it be the settings at the clavinova end that are at fault? I have tried to check/uncheck each one but no matter what I try, there is no sound. The file "plays" in the media player but I hear nothing.

I am using the joystick/midi interface. My connector comes from the midi port, splits into midi in and midi out. They are then connected to 2.5m shielded 5 din stereo audio cables as the pc and clavinova are across a room. I had been connecting midi out (from pc) to midi out (at clavinova) but I have tried the opposite way also (midi out from pc to midi in at clav.) with no success.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Cheers

Ed

Top
#305412 - 01/18/00 10:46 AM Re: Basic Midi setup
freddynl Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/17/99
Posts: 1150
Loc: netherlands
ED,
1. it'S ALLWAYS MIDI OUT TO MIDI IN!
and ALLWAYs MIDI IN FROM MIDI OUT!
(for now I will forget midi tru)
2. Stereo cables are not the same as
midi-cables! better get some midi
cables from your local music store!
And move one of the devices first so that
you can do the setup without buying the
extra cables. (And yes I know creative thought it would be too expensive to give longer cables.)
3. plug and unplug your midicables allways
with at least one of the two devices totally powered down! otherwise you can
blow your midi ports to.....heaven
Now try again..
If still no sound:
Power down your clavinova, unplug midi out on
your clavinova and power up clavinova .
Now try again..
Let me know result.

Which Clavinova model do you have by the way?

Fred



[This message has been edited by freddynl (edited 01-18-2000).]
_________________________
Keyboards/Sound Units: Kurzweil 2600S, Roland VR-760, Acces Virus C, Roland G-800, Akai AX60, Minimoog, Machine Drum, Roland R8-M, mediastation x-76

Top
#305413 - 01/18/00 04:09 PM Re: Basic Midi setup
freddynl Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/17/99
Posts: 1150
Loc: netherlands
Ed,
Just noticed it's a Yamaha
You need the hostdriver from Yamaha!
You can download this driver at;
http://www.yamaha.com/ycaservice/Driver2.htm
_________________________
Keyboards/Sound Units: Kurzweil 2600S, Roland VR-760, Acces Virus C, Roland G-800, Akai AX60, Minimoog, Machine Drum, Roland R8-M, mediastation x-76

Top
#305414 - 01/19/00 12:06 PM Re: Basic Midi setup
pbossink Offline
Member

Registered: 12/27/99
Posts: 80
Loc: Tubbergen, Netherlands
Possible solutions:
1) Switch the "MIDI" button of your CVP-92 on.
2) Maybe, the MIDI-transmit-channel is set to "off". Set it on a channel. (Look in your manual for details).
3) If you don't hear sounds from your CVP-92 which was sent from your PC, set the MIDI-receive-channel on any channel or "all".

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online