SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#304474 - 01/23/06 10:53 AM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
BEBOP Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/00
Posts: 3770
Loc: San Jose, California
Scott,
I just went to the top of this topic, clicked on the highlighted url and it pulled up Windows Media Player and started playing. so..........must be a problem in your computer affiliation with WMP.
However this song is posted on Terry's forum Club Chops so maybe you have to be a member to play it. I don't know about that, as I am a member of club chops and can play it. Maybe Terry will respond here and let us know.

Bebop

[This message has been edited by BEBOP (edited 01-23-2006).]
_________________________
BEBOP

Top
#304475 - 01/23/06 10:58 AM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
trtjazz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/01/02
Posts: 2683
Quote:
Originally posted by Scottyee:
Ok, what am I doing wrong?! I've been trying to download Terry's song for several days with not luck. I clicked on the link and then Quicktime Player within Firefox opens, but nothing happens. I also tried right clicking the link to save the song to my desktop, but nothing happens either.

Scott


Scott,
It's a WMP mp, Quicktime is real good about taking over your PC. GO into WMP settings and under file affiliation, make sure mp's are checked. I hate Quicktime.

It should work fine, you're the 1st it's done that for, so it must be that the last time you used QT, it took over the mp affiliation.
Terry
Terry


------------------
jam on,
Terry
http://www.musicchops.com/forums/
_________________________
jam on,
Terry
http://www.artisans-world.com/

Top
#304476 - 01/25/06 02:22 PM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
trtjazz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/01/02
Posts: 2683
Scott,
Were you able to hear this?
Terry

------------------
jam on,
Terry
http://www.musicchops.com/forums/
_________________________
jam on,
Terry
http://www.artisans-world.com/

Top
#304477 - 01/26/06 06:29 AM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
Carrie-uk Offline
Member

Registered: 02/23/04
Posts: 168
Loc: England
Unfortunately I'm having the same trouble as Scott, which makes me wonder if we're not the only ones! I've tried going into Windows Media player and reassigning it to play MP3's, but Quicktime still starts....which won't play the file.

Top
#304478 - 01/26/06 06:54 AM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
Scottyee Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/99
Posts: 10427
Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
Quote:
Originally posted by trtjazz:
Scott,
It's a WMP mp,

I assume you mean a Windows Media Player '.wma' file, right?


Quote:
Originally posted by trtjazz:
Scott,
Were you able to hear this?

Terry: Even though I have Windows Media Player set as my default player for Windows Media Files, still NO LUCK.

The link you provided: http://www.musicchops.com/forums/attachment.php?id=415

ends with ".php?id=415".

I would have expected it to end with ".wma" if it were a downloadable Windows Media Player file. I'm baffled why it's working for some but not me.

Scott
_________________________

Top
#304479 - 01/26/06 11:28 AM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
BEBOP Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/00
Posts: 3770
Loc: San Jose, California
Scott,
I just clicked on the link in YOUR post right above this one and the media player came up and started playing Terry's Song file.
Bebop
_________________________
BEBOP

Top
#304480 - 01/26/06 03:08 PM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
Scottyee Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/01/99
Posts: 10427
Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
Terry:

Strangely enough, even though I 've set Windows Media Player as my default player for all MP3 & Windows Media related files, when I click on the your above link, the Quicktime Player icon still continues to show up in the middle of my browser window (both Firefox and IE), and then after a few seconds of attempting to load (your song?) , a ? mark then appears, and no song is heard. Is there a setting within IE and/or Firefox of which I can change to get "Pachelbel's Canon in D" to play? Carrie: Curious is your playback problem is similar or entirely different.

This is my first experience not being able to link to & download a fellow forum member's songs, as I've downloaded songs submitted for download online by scores of others. Curious if anyone else except Carrie and me are having problems downloading & playing Terry's as well.

Scott
_________________________

Top
#304481 - 01/26/06 04:39 PM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
KeithB Offline
Member

Registered: 01/29/03
Posts: 317
Loc: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
I have the same result as Scott - frustrating as the tune is one of my personal favourites

Top
#304482 - 01/26/06 04:42 PM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
KeithB Offline
Member

Registered: 01/29/03
Posts: 317
Loc: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Well progress. Used Mozilla Firefox - it downloaded but would only play the first bar!!
Keith

Top
#304483 - 01/26/06 04:46 PM Re: Pachelbel's Canon in D
trtjazz Offline
Member

Registered: 08/01/02
Posts: 2683
Guys I'm not sure what's going on with your pcs, but I just clicked on the link Scott put up and the Windows media player came up and played it fine.

I have QT on my pc but have unchecked all the file associations in it except for QT. I have had to uninstall QT in the past because of issues like you guys are having.

Firefox should not be a problem, but I do not know for sure. It's definately on your end though with the QT player. It has been successfully d/l'd a couple of hundred times already.
Terry

------------------
jam on,
Terry
http://www.musicchops.com/forums/
_________________________
jam on,
Terry
http://www.artisans-world.com/

Top
Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online