SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#29520 - 11/21/06 11:15 PM new midjay
Tony H Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/21/06
Posts: 12
Loc: Germany
HI all,
i am fairly new to all this stuff with samples,synths , modules, etc.
so please forgive me for sounding like a total dork.
1, i wanted to clear the hard drive from my midjay to make it more my own (files sounds and so on) so i made a back up via usb to pc,after this was done and confirmed, i went ahead and deleted all the files exept those used by the machien (ie.. the os.bin )only to find after i turned on again i had a new directory ..." re-cycled " so i have to delete it all again ??? or is anything deleted ???
2). another file which only appeared after the last operation was a system restore..
it dosent work so why is it there ?
3)i tried to enter the midi function menu to turn off the "bass and drums " funtion. only to find i could not, all it would do is show the play modes ...midi input....
4)i find the manuel,no help what so ever, it is much to spartan for a powerfull thing like the midjay..is thier any other sources of information,setups,tips and so on for dummys like me.
i am glad i am a guitarist you keyboarders out thier must all be "rocket scientists "
Hail and respect to you all.
cheers..
Tony

Top
#29521 - 11/22/06 03:25 AM Re: new midjay
Tony H Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/21/06
Posts: 12
Loc: Germany
Anybody there ??????

Top
#29522 - 11/22/06 12:55 PM Re: new midjay
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5830
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Tony,
I'm not a Midjay owner,
gives this group a try , a lot of them own Midjays.
http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/solton/

best wishes
Rikki
Quote:
Originally posted by Tony H:
Anybody there ??????
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

SX900, P121 Piano, Band in a Box 2020
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#29523 - 11/22/06 02:46 PM Re: new midjay
Tony H Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/21/06
Posts: 12
Loc: Germany
thanks rikki, iwas begining to feel a bit lonley out here !

Top
#29524 - 11/22/06 09:25 PM Re: new midjay
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5830
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Tony,
sometimes we get all chatty here, other times no ones around. Always handy to have a second source for discussion.

Wish I could help , I'm an sd1+ owner though.

best wishes
Rikki

Quote:
Originally posted by Tony H:
thanks rikki, iwas begining to feel a bit lonley out here !
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

SX900, P121 Piano, Band in a Box 2020
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#29525 - 11/23/06 03:58 AM Re: new midjay
Tony H Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/21/06
Posts: 12
Loc: Germany
Hi Rikki !
the sd1 , is it the same format (file extentions) as the mjay ?.
i brought this little toy without thinking, i was on the road when i had a little misshap ( in short my drumm/beet box got smashed up ) so i brought somthing that would bring me into the 21st century, but i forgot that i mised a decade or two . all i need is a place or sombody to show me what i am missing (the lot)
the litriture that comes with this little baby is a little on the vague side to say the least.
anway i will prevail if it takes me another decade or two.
cheers
tony

Top
#29526 - 11/24/06 02:26 PM Re: new midjay
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5830
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Tony,
you'd probably be surprised what this little box can do.

My Ketron salesman here in Aust. didn't even realize it could play styles the same as the Ketron keyboards do. He thought it was just a drum machine, & that it played mp3's & midifiles.

I must admit the manual is less than helpful, ( i read it before deciding whether to purchase sd1+ or midjay). I play arranger keyboard so decided the sd would suit me better than midiing Midjay to a keyboard.

The midjay apparently loads Ketron SD1 styles ( maybe even some of the earlier models?? just not certain, it's the first Ketron I've owned).
You can certainly use it for far more than just a drum machine, just depends what your normal setup is.

best wishes
Rikki
Quote:
Originally posted by Tony H:
Hi Rikki !
the sd1 , is it the same format (file extentions) as the mjay ?.
i brought this little toy without thinking, i was on the road when i had a little misshap ( in short my drumm/beet box got smashed up ) so i brought somthing that would bring me into the 21st century, but i forgot that i mised a decade or two . all i need is a place or sombody to show me what i am missing (the lot)
the litriture that comes with this little baby is a little on the vague side to say the least.
anway i will prevail if it takes me another decade or two.
cheers
tony
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

SX900, P121 Piano, Band in a Box 2020
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#29527 - 11/24/06 04:45 PM Re: new midjay
viocaia Offline
Member

Registered: 01/30/05
Posts: 273
Loc: Romania/Norway
Hey Rikki
Dont forget about the vocalist ...which I found, after 1 year of experimenting , very usefull.
Of course it needs to be placed inside Midjay.
Anyway I'm thinking about buying one next year for ''on the road gigs''.
Vio
_________________________
Vio

Top
#29528 - 11/24/06 04:58 PM Re: new midjay
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 5830
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Vio,
I can't sing a note, so it wouldn't have even occured to me (haa haa)

Are you reffering to the actual vocalist for the midjay?? I thought a couple of the members may have been a bit dissapointed in it compared to the one in the sd1+, but I could have that totally wrong, my memory is not what it used to be.

I must admit though I was sorely tempted to buy the midjay instead of the sd1+ mainly because I didn't really need another keyboard. The sampler & the ability to record styles via a sequencer sold me on the SD1 in the end.

best wishes
Rikki
p.s. I added an SD2 soundmodule to my collection of stuff.

Quote:
Originally posted by viocaia:
Hey Rikki
Dont forget about the vocalist ...which I found, after 1 year of experimenting , very usefull.
Of course it needs to be placed inside Midjay.
Anyway I'm thinking about buying one next year for ''on the road gigs''.
Vio

_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

SX900, P121 Piano, Band in a Box 2020
V Arranger/Ketron SD2

Top
#29529 - 11/25/06 03:32 AM Re: new midjay
viocaia Offline
Member

Registered: 01/30/05
Posts: 273
Loc: Romania/Norway
Hey!
Actually I'm refering to SD1 vocalist...but I think it's the same device in both of them.I'm not sure...anyway...you need a lot of time and passion to achieve good results and good sound from it.
Vio
_________________________
Vio

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online