SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#286120 - 04/21/10 06:44 PM Re: You dont need a sustain pedal for this act.....
bruno123 Online   content

Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Opinion—
If you do not use a sustain pedal when playing a piano you take away 40% of the instrument sound possibilities. I have been tuning pianos for the last 45 years.

Having said that – I have never used a pedal with any of my keyboards. I do use the harmony chord and a pedal to turn it on and off but no sustain pedal. This is neither right nor is it wrong. Keep in mind that I came to the keyboard as a guitar player, if I came as a piano player the pedal would be a must because it would part of the way I learn to express my feelings on the piano. The sustain pedal does without doubt add a favorable a beautiful dimension to the piano’s sound.

John C.

#286121 - 04/21/10 07:00 PM Re: You dont need a sustain pedal for this act.....
miden Offline

Loc: The World
Quote:
Originally posted by Bill in Dayton:
Thank you for the response, but I have some questions...

You say the ""lightening fast technique" refers to using your fingers to make button changes while you play vs a pedal of any kind."

What specific buttons are you pressing to replace the sustain pedal? Have you re-assigned the sustain function to another button on top of the kb?

Please explain...

As a former accordion player myself, I think Donny is using his S910 more along accordion lines (forgive the presumption Donny )..Totally understandable to any accordion players.

And lets face it, with an arranger, who needs a left hand comping bass/chords.

I do play with my left hand froming my own chords in full keyboard mode, but then I have not played an accordion for about 20 years. Piano was the instrument I wanted to learn, but living in a tiny tenement when I was a kid meant there was no room.

In my case I developed my own left hadn "piano technique" which gets me by.