SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2858 - 08/08/05 05:25 AM How to sequence for live situation (I'm a rookie)
IGGY Offline

Hi, I'm new to this BBS and a rookie at sequencing. I'm hoping those far more experienced can help me.
I own a Korg Triton Studio and need to sequence some backing tracks for use in a live situation to play horn parts, strings, effects, etc.

I understand how to do this on the keyboard but my question is: How should I create the tracks so that everyone else in the band can play in sync with the tracks? Normally the drummer would start a song by setting the tempo by counting down 1-2-3-4 by tapping his sticks together. Since this will no longer be possible and basically be my job on the synth/sequencer to do this, how do you all go about doing this WITHOUT using the audible metronome countdown built into the sequencer. (Some threads I've read generally refer to a click track used in a studio situation with the drummer wearing headphones but I would prefer not to do this).

My thoughts would be to sequence the 'sticks countdown' for one bar then have some sort of simple drum beat playing but I don't want interfere with the actual drummers playing.

How do you all go about doing this?

If I'm not clear enough with my question, please feel free to ask me. This is my first attempt at this.

Thanks! IGGY

b

#2859 - 08/08/05 11:44 AM Re: How to sequence for live situation (I'm a rookie)
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi IGGY,

Well the first thought is just play the parts live and forget the sequence idea. 99.9% of the audience isn't going to miss a part here or there so just pick out the important part for each section of the song that you can play live and don't worry about the other stuff.

Or....if you really want to use the technology you have....