SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 6 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >
Topic Options
#278382 - 01/04/10 10:07 PM Re: SZ membership: women vs. men?
Lucky2Bhere Offline

...and the more I think about it, the more I note that most great music was written by men (Broadway: Rogers & Hammerstein, George Gershwin Opera: Guiseppe Verdi, Puccini etc. And even the great bandleaders of the 40's were men.

Also, I don't ever remember seeing a woman in the field nowadays who was there to make great music. As I said they're there mostly for the attention or to simply make money.

I got into music as a kid because I simply "loved music." Couldn't get enough of it....would stay awake every night to listen to Alan Freed right up to midnight. I started playing because I wanted to make great music myself, not because I wanted to make money (although that came with it). In short, my goal was somewhat altruistic. Like Mama Leoni said in her commercials: Make good music and plenty of it....the people will come!

I don't see that desire in women. As was mentioned here, they seem to be wired for other things....and nurturing they are Black Belts at.

At various times throughout my career, I tried auditioning women to form a duo. Nothing ever worked because I found most of them to be in the field for the wrong reason. They're interest was in it, but their heart was NOT. I wanted to do great arrangements and work hard at it, and they just wanted to go out and sing....most of them not even wanting to take the time to go for vocal training.

I even have a lady friend who has a voice that would shatter glass. Julliard trained. Stops people dead in their tracks when she sings. I've tried many a time to talk her into doing a duo on stage. No dice. She's content with just singing in her living room while I back her up on the piano.