SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#271923 - 09/24/09 01:36 PM Just ordered a new toy that I don't know how toplay
cgiles Offline

Loc: Roswell,GA/USA
Okay, before some smartass says "Oh, it must be a keyboard", I'll tell you, it's the new Alesis DM10 electronic drum kit. http://www.alesis.com/dm10prokit
It looks like a good bang for the buck to me, but not being a drummer, I can't say for sure. The specs look good and so does the unit (for the money). The feature that hooked me was that you can load up any software like BFD into the BRAIN (sound module) and bypass having to use a laptop to play the sounds.

I ran it by the two drummers that I sometime play with, one of whom has a Roland TD20 rig. They both approve but warned me not to expect a poor man's TD20. I don't. If I were a drummer and were getting it for myself, I'd get the Roland (costs a lot more so it must be a lot better, right ), but since I'm getting it mainly to have a kit in my little home studio and the fact that it will be played primarily by other people, .......the cheapo wins out. This should be an enticement for the drummer to sometimes come to MY house for rehearsal or jamming. We'll see. I will order some external drum package(s) to supplement the on-board kits. Any suggestions (Diki?). It's supposed to also trigger external modules like the SonicCell or even drum machines like my Zoom (horrible sounds). Should be fun until the novelty wears off .

The thing currently has a shipping delay but hopefully it'll be here shortly after I get back from my hip job. I'll give you a second-hand review from my drummer (the Roland one; the other guy hates electronic kits of any kind).

chas

#271924 - 09/24/09 01:55 PM Re: Just ordered a new toy that I don't know how toplay
trident Offline

Loc: Athens, Greece
Important question:

How much?

If only I had room for a thing like that I would buy one on a snap.

Have fun!