SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#2702 - 03/13/03 11:03 AM Help out a newbie please......
Tonemonster Offline

Loc: USA
Hello people!! I am a newbie here and I need some help. I am a guitarist of 15 years and have been thinking very much about gettin ginto playing some keyboards. I love 70's and 80's rock and thats what I want to play. THings like Foreigner, Toto, Journey, Asia, Styx, REO, Van halen, that type of music. Anyway, what I want is some recommendations of a good keyboard that I can start out with. Being as its new to me I really dont want to spend a whole buch of money, but I reallize I cant expect to pay peanuts and get a great unit too. What I want is a keyboard or synth that I can get those great 70's 80's sounds with and thats it!!! I dont need no goofy sound effects or horns, drums, guitars, or any of that stuff, I just want those classic synth sounds of the bands I have mentioned. Can anyone recommend what type, brand, model, of keyboard to buy and waht to expect to pay and where I should buy it?? Or any other good websites whrere I can get more help?? Any information would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks alot!!!

Please help the tonemonster, Thanks!!!!

Tonemonster

#2703 - 03/13/03 02:27 PM Re: Help out a newbie please......
Catsailor Offline

Hi Tonemonster!

Welcome to the Synthzone. Usually when someone asks the questions that you ask, the best answer is to check out the music stores in your area. See what they have, how they sound, and the prices. Then make your selection based on which one fits your requirements. Everyone has their own particular preferences and very seldom will they agree with anyone elses.

Peter

#2704 - 03/13/03 03:39 PM Re: Help out a newbie please......
DanO1 Offline

Loc: Maryland
Quote:
Originally posted by Tonemonster: