SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#2607 - 10/09/06 02:28 PM Need digital piano help
Bennson Offline

Loc: Everett, Washington, USA
Please forgive my ignorance, if you can help me I would appreciate it! I am a professional singer, mostly weddings, funerals, and church gigs. I don't play the piano, but my 5 year old twins and I want to learn. So, I want a digital piano in a case, with an LCD screen, disk drive, (so we can learn to play) and a sequencer that allows vocals (or several tracks of vocals) to be recorded as well as piano. It needs to be easy enough that a hack like me can figure it out, but advanced enough that my long time pianist can go to town. I would love to be able to record our music for folks considering hiring us. Any thoughts? Again showing my ignorance, would a Suzuki ST-7 do the job? THANK YOU!

#2608 - 10/09/06 03:45 PM Re: Need digital piano help
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Hi,
Just to clear up a couple of things.

There is a difference between recording MIDI and Audio so when you say you want to use a sequencer to record vocals I guess what you really mean is that you are looking for a DAW (Digital Audio WOrkstation). A digital Audio recorder that allows you to capture live audio signal and record it digitally to a hard drive.

A *MIDI* sequencer is not what you would use for recording vocals. It is used to record/play MIDI events. In short, MIDI events are nothing but a set of commands that tell a keyboard to play a certain note (or any given amount of notes) and other MIDI data (controls and so on( using this digital language called M.I.D.I. (Google that one(.

I think if portability and ease of use are a priority for you you are potentially looking at a more or less 'all in one' kind of workstation that has lots of good sounds, MIDI and Audio recording capabilities and of course a good keyboard feel.