SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#252295 - 12/31/08 10:02 AM My New Years Resolution
Beakybird Offline

I have been performing for the senior circuit for the last 10 years. I make a pretty good living, but something has been gnawing at me. When I was in my 20's and 30's, I spent countless hours crafting songs. I got great feedback from friends, but I did little to market them.

This year, I'm going to record at least one CD and, instead of saving money for retirement, I'm going to invest in my dream. I'm going to attend songwriting conventions, send my songs to anyone who can help launch my career. I might try to perform them acoustically in the Chicago area. I wish that I didn't wait until I was 46 to pursue my dream, but it's better late than never.

Unfortunately, with my busy schedule on the senior circuit, I don't have so much time, but I will burn the midnight oil to achieve my dream of being a professional songwriter.

BTW, when I recorded a few songs 7 years ago using Cakewalk Sonar, I learned how to do something that I forgot:

I recorded myself solo on piano. Then I beat a note on my piano on another track to map out the beat. Then I launched a style on my PSR-740 (now I play the PSR-S900), and I had the computer control the tempo. This way, the tempo breathed with the song instead of like a drum machine. Does anyone know how to do this or where I could get the answer?

Happy New Year!

Beakybird

#252296 - 12/31/08 01:36 PM Re: My New Years Resolution
DanO1 Offline

Loc: Maryland
Hey Larry ,

I'm right behind you.... Best of luck with your goal and best of luck to you in 2009.

Dan O'

#252297 - 12/31/08 02:27 PM Re: My New Years Resolution
Diki Offline

Loc: NW Florida
Best of luck, Beaky....

Maybe while you are networking, you can find maybe a guitarist songwriter, or a rhythm section writing team, and do some trading off of playing time?