SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#250212 - 12/04/08 05:55 PM Saying goodbye is hard to do...
travlin'easy Online   happy

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
I've been working since I was 10 years old, and most of my life I've worked 7 days a week, and an 8-hour day would have been a short day. I've done just about everything a person could ever want to do, I've been to more than 100 countries, visited nearly every state in the U.S., you name it and there's a good chance I've done it at least once.

Along the way I've made lots of friends, some of which are entertainers and musicians who frequent the Synthzone and PSR Tutorial, and I've been lucky enough to meet several in person. Unfortunately, some of them are no longer with us and there isn't a day that goes by that I don't think of them.

This past year has been especially difficult with the passing of several close friends and a few relatives. Now, at age 68, I decided to spend more time with my wife, my children and grandson. I hope to enjoy what little life I have left, and cut back on the number of music jobs I perform each year. Cutting back from 350 jobs to 200 jobs meant having to tell some long-time clients that I will no longer be able to perform for them.

Those of us that have been doing this for a full-time living are keenly aware that a significant number of their audience members are almost like family. One of the senior centers where I have performed every other month for nearly a decade was among the locations that I decided would be on the cut list. I know everyone there on a first name basis.