SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 4 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#247806 - 11/10/08 12:30 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by chony:
I have a Korg pa2x and a T3, and I prefer the T3 non-touch screen.


I have to agree: on a touch screen is MUCH easier to press the wrong "button" (or area); I can't remember the times when, while renaming a style or a multipad, I pressed by mistake the "cancel" button (instead of "OK") and had to start to type the name again.

And... to me multipads are a Godsend: on my PA2X Pro I have created my own multipads with sampled grooves, but even on the Tyros 2 there are multipads that are very tasty and you can always create your own. The problem is that it takes time to understand how this can be done but this means also really making the keyboard your own.
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
#247807 - 11/10/08 12:45 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
Nick G Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/16/05
Posts: 1109
Loc: Sydney, NSW, Australia
is it just me or did a block of posts in this thread get deleted?
_________________________
Yamaha PSR SX900 / Roland G70 / Roland BK9 / Korg PA700 / Roland GW-8L / Roland Fantom O6

Top
#247808 - 11/10/08 02:12 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
abacus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/21/05
Posts: 5353
Loc: English Riviera, UK
Small touch screens can be a problem if the layouts of the onscreen features have been poorly optimised (Laid out) for the size of the screen. (This is not a fault with the screen but a poorly designed GUI)
The larger the screen the more information can be included on a page, and quite frankly the size and layout of the Tyros 3 screen, is just crying out to have touch sensitivity added.

Bill
_________________________
English Riviera:
Live entertainment, Real Ale, Great Scenery, Great Beaches, why would anyone want to live anywhere else (I�m definitely staying put).

Top
#247809 - 11/10/08 03:03 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10606
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by Nick G:
is it just me or did a block of posts in this thread get deleted?


Yep....there was a Nigelectomy performed...useless banter was removed.
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#247810 - 11/10/08 03:26 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
ChicoBrasil Offline
Member

Registered: 06/09/01
Posts: 993
Loc: Belo Horizonte,Minas Gerais,Br...
I have both, touchscreen(E50) and buttons (S900). I prefer buttons.
About multi pads, I have created my own bossa nova pads that I look upon very usefull.
Chico

Top
#247811 - 11/10/08 04:46 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
kbrkr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/19/02
Posts: 2866
Loc: Tampa, FL
Chony,

Yea, but admit it...how many times have you touched the Tyros screen thinking it was a touch screen after playing the Pa2?????

c'mon, go ahead, admit it...???

LOL
Al

Quote:
Originally posted by chony:
I have a Korg pa2x and a T3, and I prefer the T3 non-touch screen.
_________________________
Al

Pa4x - LD Systems Maui 28 - Mackie Thumps

Top
#247812 - 11/10/08 04:48 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
kbrkr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/19/02
Posts: 2866
Loc: Tampa, FL
Whether you like them or not, touch screens are a great implementation for manufacturers because they do not require a physical implementation to trigger a feature. Meaning, the Operating system can be written with any kind of functionality AFTER the board is produced and assembled regardless of the tactile or physical buttons/knobs/sliders physically present on the board.

This is what enables a few manufacturers to deliver new features with Operating system releases.

JMTC
Al
_________________________
Al

Pa4x - LD Systems Maui 28 - Mackie Thumps

Top
#247813 - 11/10/08 04:59 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
Phanoo Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 10/28/08
Posts: 2
Loc: france
that can be also done with buttons near of the screen !
for example, you have buttons on the right of the screen, and the screen displays the function of each button.

Top
#247814 - 11/10/08 05:05 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
musicmanht Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/10/08
Posts: 8
Loc: Leonding, AUSTRIA
Yamaha have color touch screens! Not on their keyboards but on all STAGEA organ models and on the D-Deck multikeyboard, I think that the integration of a touch screen is more expensive and till now not important enough to integrate in arranger keys?

DDEck => http://www.yamaha.co.jp/d-deck/function/index.html

Top
#247815 - 11/10/08 05:28 AM Re: When will Yamaha ever catch up & include a touch screen on the Arrangers?....
Graham UK Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/20/01
Posts: 1925
Loc: Lincolnshire UK
Touch screens are sometimes intermittent, you very often have to hit the screen twice....no good in a live performance.
The best touch screen so far is Roland, the Korg Icons are too small.
The button press is positive, so that is possibly why Yamaha still use this approach.

Top
Page 4 of 8 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >

Moderator:  Admin, Diki, Kerry 



Help keep Synth Zone Online