SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#246099 - 10/25/08 02:13 PM Should I buy the Tyros 3?
Swissman Offline

Loc: Moita, Portugal
I have managed to try a Tyros 3 today at a music store in Belgium (where I am temporarily working) and now I have mixed feelings about it.

I've spend about an hour trying the keyboard, which was hooked to the Tyros TRS-MS02 speakers (the same I am using in my Tyros 2 at home, so the sound quality was compared with a similar output).

In my opinion (and please note that I am an amateur, who plays at home for self entertainment and enjoyment after normal working days), the improvement from Tyros 2 to Tyros 3 is not so evident as some have reported here (and I read this forum every single day...).

I appreciated the layout, key bed quality and specially the display (the biggest improvement in my opinion). The new SA2 voices are ok, but sound availability is not a concern for me as I have other sources with good and enough sounds (like the G70, Triton, SY-85 and Sonic Cell).

I was expecting some improvement in the overall sound quality and the new drum sets, but besides the new SA2 and some synth and pad voices I couldn’t see any improvement. I left the store with the impression that the sound was very similar to what I already have with the Tyros 2.

My registrations (saved on a USB stick) worked smoothly, so I don't know what's the requirement for using the Tyros 2-Tyros 3 converter made available by YPKO. All my old styles worked well.

The new multi-pads from Tyros 3 can be used in Tyros 2, but the styles are not compatible (my Tyros 2 reports "Data hasn't been loaded properly").

If the new Tyros 3 had the equivalent to my G70 make-up tools (which allows me to manipulate the styles to a big extent) and the possibility to individually select octaves for the UP1, UP2 and UP3 voices (like in the G70), I would probably trade my Tyros 2 with a Tyros 3.