SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#245838 - 10/23/08 02:53 PM Re: How much time do you spend practicing?
ytlevine Offline

Dont know how much my answer counts, as I am from the younger generation.
If I can, I play a half hour a day, mostly working on new songs.

[This message has been edited by ytlevine (edited 10-23-2008).]

#245839 - 10/23/08 04:26 PM Re: How much time do you spend practicing?
Kingfrog Offline

Loc: Myrtle beach SC
Zero. I use the keyboard as a tool to write. If there is something I want to play but I can't I will slow down the sequence and play it. I don't have the patience for rote excersizes. I studied some theory and scales but never learned to play them fast (thanks to sequencers). I was an organ player i my teens and twenties and coupld play all the solos from Santana and a few covers on a C-3 I lugged around. But Since the sequencer came out I quit playing live nad became a studio rat losing any chops I had. Oh well. Its fun not a living for me.

Every hour I spend playing anything is "practice" except Im doing what I prefer to do rather than what a book or teacher dictates I should do. SO far I have not found it to be a handicap. Especially with these Arrangers.

I'm used to workstations where one has to play every part. These Arramgers are a cakewalk.

In fact I use it with Cakewalk....

[This message has been edited by Kingfrog (edited 10-23-2008).]
Casio PX-330
Martin DC Aura
Breedlove ATlas Solo
Bose MOD II PA

#245840 - 10/24/08 01:33 AM Re: How much time do you spend practicing?
Dreamer Offline

Loc: Rome - Italy
OK, seriously now...