SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#242568 - 09/14/08 06:30 PM Tyros 3 and other keyboard prices: Are there any rules?
rattley Offline

Loc: Punta Gorda Florida USA
I pre-ordered my Tyros3 for what I thought was the lowest price Yamaha would let a dealer sell it for. I've read some posts here and elsewhere where some dealers are selling it well below what I might be paying. I've heard (rumor?) Yamaha has suspended shipments to dealers who are selling for less than agreed. Are there rules? Do some dealers have different contracts or agreements with Yamaha? Do all dealers pay the same wholesale price or do some get discounts from Yamaha? Does the whole industry operate this way? -charley

#242569 - 09/14/08 08:15 PM Re: Tyros 3 and other keyboard prices: Are there any rules?
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I'm no expert, but the manufacturer's set a MAP price (Minimum price that can be advertised). If they post a lower price they are in trouble. However, they can sell the stuff for whatever they want I suppose.
I seldom have paid full MAP for anything.
Bear in mind that there are many other considerations besides price, including support and service.
DonM

#242570 - 09/14/08 10:13 PM Re: Tyros 3 and other keyboard prices: Are there any rules?
Kingfrog Offline

Loc: Myrtle beach SC
Quote:
Originally posted by DonM:
I'm no expert, but the manufacturer's set a MAP price (Minimum price that can be advertised). If they post a lower price they are in trouble. However, they can sell the stuff for whatever they want I suppose.
I seldom have paid full MAP for anything.
Bear in mind that there are many other considerations besides price, including support and service.
DonM