SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#231407 - 04/05/08 01:09 PM Bose L1
JCkeeys Offline
Member

Registered: 10/13/00
Posts: 584
Loc: St. James,New York,USA
All you folks have convinced me to consider the Bose L1. Here is my question L1 model 1 or L1 Model 2?
There is a pair of both on Ebay. They do not have the base (bottom plug in piece) unit, just speaker?? Can you purchase the base units? After checking out the info on the Bose web site it appears I can easily use my powered sub and would not need to get the Bose. So, all I need is the two L1's plug my PA2x output L in 1 and output R into the other, Sub out into my powered sub and away I go!!! Anyone see aproblem with any of this.

Thanks

Top
#231408 - 04/05/08 01:21 PM Re: Bose L1
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 14302
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Post the link to Ebay so we can look at the advertisement. Without the base unit, the speakers and sub are pretty much worthless--you need the base unit--it's the amp.

Gary

------------------
Travlin' Easy
_________________________
PSR-S950, Bose L1 Compact, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, Morgan 33 Out Island Sailboat, and lots of other silly stuff!

Top
#231409 - 04/05/08 01:34 PM Re: Bose L1
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4646
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I have had the L1 Classic for a couple of years without a problem. When I first got it, I chose to do the same as you, in that I had a Z5500 sub. It worked, but it didn't sound as good as on my old setup. I ordered a Bose sub right away and the difference was astounding. The reason is that the Bose sub becomes a part of the entire system when connected(crossover). I would say try yours, but it won't be the fault of the Bose if it is not to your liking.

As far as I or II is conscerned, there are pro's and cons. The model I, or Classic, has four inputs on the base unit, and does not need a Tonematch. I have one anyway, for additional functionality. Some say the spread is wider on the model II, but not that much. Some say the sound is better, but the tech boys at the Bose forum dispute that.

I, obviously, think you are going in the right direction with a Bose, the particulars are up to you.

Good luck
Bernie
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#231410 - 04/05/08 01:36 PM Re: Bose L1
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4646
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Good catch Gary. I was thinking B1 sub, not the base unit.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#231411 - 04/05/08 01:58 PM Re: Bose L1
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4646
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
I saw a thread on the Bose forum mentioning $500 for one of theit returned base units.
http://bose.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/778102955/m/1851051113?r=1851051113#1851051113
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#231412 - 04/05/08 03:15 PM Re: Bose L1
Fran Carango Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8865
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Used Bose are down to earth pricing..compared to selling at list price..I was just told Guitar Center puts a value of $500 for the Bose PAS..and hopefully , out the door price at $1,000..

This is standard logic..25 cents on the dollar for wholesale [dealer cost]...and double the investment for retail...
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
#231413 - 04/05/08 07:00 PM Re: Bose L1
JCkeeys Offline
Member

Registered: 10/13/00
Posts: 584
Loc: St. James,New York,USA

Top
#231414 - 04/05/08 08:09 PM Re: Bose L1
BEBOP Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/00
Posts: 3770
Loc: San Jose, California
according to the picture shown there you are bidding on a box that sez Bose on it. I sure hope it isn't an empty box
Bebop
_________________________
BEBOP

Top
#231415 - 04/05/08 08:29 PM Re: Bose L1
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 39311
Loc: NJ
Buyer BEWARE....look at all the NEGATIVES & just a Box?

Top
#231416 - 04/06/08 07:49 AM Re: Bose L1
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 14302
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
The ad says it all--Speakers Only. Then it says One Speaker, which is really weird because you need both segments of the tower assembly--not just one. And, the speakers are pretty much worthless without the base unit, which contains the mixer/amp.

Fran,

If you find a complete, used, Bose L1, in working condition, including a single sub, anywhere in this part of the world for $500 I'll buy it. You know my phone number--give me a call with the location and I'll be out the door before you hang up.

Gary

------------------
Travlin' Easy
_________________________
PSR-S950, Bose L1 Compact, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, Morgan 33 Out Island Sailboat, and lots of other silly stuff!

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online