SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#227719 - 02/24/08 06:18 AM SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
I cannot find in the lame manual how to do a reset. Everyone talks about the great sounds and styles of the SD-5. Anyone who would hear mine would agree with me that it has thin guitars, weak pianos and horns and excessive fx to mask the deficiencies. The styles are lousy. The unplugged have TERRIBLE glitches in them and are bodiless too. Everthing sounds extremely hollow through the onboard speakers.

PLEASE don't tell me I need to spend time with it - I know awesome from very good and then the rest - this is the bottom of the rest

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227720 - 02/24/08 07:15 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
frankieve Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 1675
Loc: Milford, CT, USA
I had the SD5 for about a year, I ended up getting a SD1+.

I have always loved the Ketron Styles, especially the sd1 series styles. It did take some work to get the SD5 to were I like it, I ended up adding about a half a dozen SD1 styles to the SD5.

Also I found that using the Program sounds rather than the preset sounds do add a little more umph.

You really can't compare a Ketron to a Korg or Yamaha, they are different animals.

I use my Pa800 for recording and for gigs that are more ballroom/resteraunt type were the nuance of play can be heard and appreciated.

The Ketron is used for more of the big dinner dances, and weddins, for some reason the Ketron can fill the room better with it's sound, probably a combinantion of the excessive fx and more of an analog/record type sound rather than the more polished CD purity of the yamaha/korg.

I love both and hate both.

If we could use a combinination of Ketron, yamaha, korg styles , op systems, and sounds, we could have a amazing system
_________________________
www.AudioProCT.com
Frank@AudioProCT.com

Top
#227721 - 02/24/08 10:27 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Please someone answer my question. This thing is NOT RIGHT - believe me....no amount of work can make this thing sound good - it is that terrible.

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227722 - 02/24/08 10:45 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
frankieve Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 1675
Loc: Milford, CT, USA
I wouldn't say its broke or wrong, just different. It's not a SD1, it's a scaled down version with speakers. It's not everyone's choice, but it still sounds good. you don't have the "Mega" voices and such but the styles are still very good and musical.

I'm not defending the SD5 because everyone has there own preferences.
_________________________
www.AudioProCT.com
Frank@AudioProCT.com

Top
#227723 - 02/24/08 10:58 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
George Kaye Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 3305
Loc: Reseda, California USA
Frank and Zuki, I think you are both correct.
Here in my store, most folks think just like the two of you. Ketron has tried to duplicate the type of Mega or RX voices used in Korg and Yamaha keyboards by adding squeeks and fret noise on the guitars. Unfortunately, they don't use velocity to add and swtich the different elements but rather sample secific "noises" on lower or upper octave notes. By doing this, they are able to create pretty good guitar patches within a style but to just play the sounds, there is much lacking.
Also, there are so many fewer styles, especially in the Big Band and Jazz catagory compared to the SD1+ and when you load the extra SD1 styles into the pattern memory, the sounds just don't sound the same, because many of them are different or just missing.
So it leads me to say the same thing I told the owners of Ketron over two years ago when they were demonstrating this keyboard at the NAMM show. "Price it at the Yamaha PSR3000 price range or don't expect to sell very many here in the USA". They didn't listen to me!
As for a factory reset. You can only push the button "save/enter", go to power on setup and select "default" to put all the factory settings back to "out of the box", but you can only do a style default to put the factory sounds back to their originals.


------------------
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene
Reseda, California
818-881-5566
www.kayesmusicscene.com
_________________________
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene (Closed after 51 years)
West Hills, California
(Retired 2021)

Top
#227724 - 02/24/08 11:42 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
frankieve Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 1675
Loc: Milford, CT, USA
Well said George.

Ketron made a benchmark with the SD1, and I think they have waited long enough and hopefully the Audya will do what the SD1 accomplished
_________________________
www.AudioProCT.com
Frank@AudioProCT.com

Top
#227725 - 02/24/08 03:03 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
George,

Thank you for this information. Sorry everyone for the sour grapes, but I would NEVER buy or recommend a Ketron product, based on this bad experience. I was foolish to part with the 800.

This is my 2nd stupid mistake these past several months - conned twice.

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227726 - 02/24/08 03:08 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Quote:
Originally posted by frankieve:
but it still sounds good. you don't have the "Mega" voices and such but the styles are still very good and musical.

I'm not defending the SD5 because everyone has there own preferences.


To say this things sounds good is a real stretch. I know good from bad and this is BAD, very BAD. I can appreciate a board not having Mega or other sounds, but come on, this is pitiful, both sounds and styles. I still maintain that something is wrong, not different, but wrong..believe me. Hopefully the reset will help, if not, I might just give it away.

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227727 - 02/24/08 03:38 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
frankieve Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 1675
Loc: Milford, CT, USA
Well if your giving it away, I'll take it.

If your interested in a PA800 let me know, I have one that a customer never picked up.

Email me for the pricing

Frankieve@snet.net
_________________________
www.AudioProCT.com
Frank@AudioProCT.com

Top
#227728 - 02/24/08 05:29 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 9673
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Zuki, relax and take a deep breath...
I have never heard a "bad" sounding Solton /Ketron product..going back to the mid 80's...

Something is definitely wrong here....Do the factory reset..( should have been the first thing you did after opening the box)..

Maybe somebody is really toying with you..and has things messed up..

There are a lot of things with Ketron keyboards that I do not care for..but, sounds are not one of them..

Let us know if the factory reset helped..If not we will pray for you..
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
#227729 - 02/24/08 06:01 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
rikkisbears Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/22/02
Posts: 6020
Loc: NSW,Australia
Hi Zuki,
have you listened to any of the SD5 demo's on the Ketron site, should give you some idea of what it should sound like, just in case something is actually wrong with yours.
Was it brand new??

Don't know if the SD5 operating system works the same as the sd1+ but styles on the sd1 can actually be overwritten, if the board was secondhand , maybe someone has altered it??

The sounds on the sd5 are supposedly the same as on the sd2 soundmodule. Personally I don't think the sd2 sounds are quite as good as the sd1+ sounds, but they're still quite good.

hope you can figure it out.

best wishes
Rikki

[QUOTE]Originally posted by zuki:
[B]
_________________________
best wishes
Rikki 🧸

Korg PA5X 88 note
SX900
Band in a Box 2022

Top
#227730 - 02/24/08 06:20 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Ketron_AJ Offline
Moderator

Registered: 03/21/01
Posts: 3585
Loc: Middletown, DE
zuki,

Email me at tech@ketronusa.com so I send you the reset procedure. I can also send you the required files to reset the SOUND BOARD to factory.

Thanks,

AJ
_________________________
[KETRON - USA]
Design Engineer & Product Specialist.
www.KetronAmerica.com

Top
#227731 - 02/24/08 07:20 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Thank you AJ,

email sent.

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227732 - 02/24/08 07:25 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43703
Im interested to hear what this factory reset by AJ will do vs what is being heard & experiencing now Zuki?

Top
#227733 - 02/24/08 07:25 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 9673
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
See Zuki, we prayed for AJ to help you..
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
#227734 - 02/24/08 07:36 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
I'm keeping my fingers crossed and hoping it makes me out a liar. If so, I'll offer an apology and forgiveness. If not, I'll shut up and move on.

Thanks for praying to the arranger God I needed an uplift.

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227735 - 02/24/08 08:41 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16735
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Zuki,
I feel really bad for touting the SD5 so strongly to you. I absolutely love the way mine sounds. It sounds like a live band. When we talked, by email and by phone, I was very careful to tell you that there would be a learning curve with the operating system.
My SD5 sounded great out of the box. No e.q.ing or big adjustments were necessary.
Still it would be next to impossible for someone unfamiliar with the operating system to get a real handle on it after only one day. If yours sounds "terrible", something is wrong with it.
Talk about something sounding terrible. When I bought the PA800, my customers were coming up asking what in the world I changed, because it sounded so bad, and this was after weeks of trying to make it sound decent. Also there were very limited styles available for my use.
However, when you use the term "conned", I hope you are not referring to me. If so, you just name the price and I will personally buy the SD5 from you.
DonM


[This message has been edited by DonM (edited 02-24-2008).]
_________________________
DonM

Top
#227736 - 02/24/08 09:01 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Don, my friend:

Absolutely not referring to you. I am just sick about trading my PA800 with the harmonizer, pedalboard, half damper pedal and mp3 for this crap I got stuck with. It has nothing to do with you.

It boils down to taste. I think the styles are extremely outdated and nothing I could ever use live. My styles have MAJOR glitches. They do not respond in time - awful. The sounds - ughh. The acoustic guitar sounds like a one string banjo.

AJ was willing to help and I appreciate that, but I am FINISHED with this and need to get it out of my life, ASAP. The more it sits, the more frustrated I become. I'll cover it with a blanket until sold.

I love the 900 - it is money in the bank. I know I need the T2 with the extras I'm looking for and I'll get a stand-alone harmonizer in May. Then I won't continue to look foolish on the forum. It's made me a madman

If I win a lottery, I'll send it to you free

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227737 - 02/24/08 09:09 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43703
Zuki....did you do the reset yet & see if that helps?

Top
#227738 - 02/24/08 09:18 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16735
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Zuki, no problem here. I guess if everyone had the same taste, they would all want to marry the same girl. I'll keep my ears open for a buyer for your SD5.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#227739 - 02/25/08 08:51 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
captain Russ Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 7290
Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
Zuki, I have a new in the box G-70, foot controller never opened and Gator case with wheels. Don't like it. What about a trade? It isn't going anywhere. Why not go check one out and let me know?


Russ

Top
#227740 - 02/25/08 09:10 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16735
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I was just about to suggest that, Russ.
Zuki, if you don't like the G70, it would be easier to resell than the SD5.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#227741 - 02/25/08 09:10 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
RUSS - WHEN CAN WE MAKE THE DEAL? I'd love to meet and talk to you in person too. I'll drive down from Cincinnati ASAP.

ZUKI

email me: cjherrmann650@cs.com
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227742 - 02/25/08 09:17 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
DonM Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/25/99
Posts: 16735
Loc: Benton, LA, USA
All Right! A marriage made in Heaven. Maybe it will all work out.
DonM
_________________________
DonM

Top
#227743 - 02/25/08 09:20 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 9673
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Zuki, take advantage of Russ's senior moment..

I want you to keep the G70 for 90 days at home..Get use to it and understand what it is about..You will soon find why many of us say it is the best keyboard on the market..

If you follow my advise...you will be hauling the G70 to all your jobs in no time..
_________________________
www.francarango.com



Top
#227744 - 02/25/08 09:28 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 43703
Good luck Zuki on your new G70....

The G70 will give you all you'll need
Great styles & sounds & fantastic Vocal harmonizer, real drawbars & more!

[This message has been edited by Dnj (edited 02-25-2008).]

Top
#227745 - 02/25/08 09:42 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
captain Russ Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 7290
Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
Zuki, does your SD-5 have a hard drive? Do you have a case? Did you get it new? which operating system version do you have? Just let me know about it. I'll be out most of the day on a shoot, but will be back in this evening. I've been playing MS-60's, the early version of the SD-5 for years and have a Midjay. Please email me when you get a chance with the details.

Thanks,

Russ

Top
#227746 - 02/25/08 10:08 AM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Russ,

- Release 1.0A

- Hard drive installed: 40g

- Case: Newer Cases 111 - 76 note case which it fits great in

- (2) serial to port adapters

- Manual and music rest

- Like new - not a blemish anywhere.

- The person to whom I traded my KorgPA800 bought it new (a synth forum guy) and played it 7 hours.


zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227747 - 02/25/08 02:48 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
captain Russ Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 7290
Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
Zuki-let's do it!


R.

Top
#227748 - 02/25/08 04:09 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Diki Offline


Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 14207
Loc: NW Florida
Zuki... How about taking a lesson away from this?

DON'T BUY ANYTHING UNHEARD... Period.

Spend a whole day on it in a store, or don't buy it at all. Don't buy it unless you absolutely HAVE to buy it (because it sounds SO good)! Don't buy it because someone ELSE likes it. He ain't you!

And don't sell whatever you have gigged on for a while until AFTER you have bought and modified your new one and it does the job you want to your own satisfaction.

Have you considered what lugging a 45 lb. keyboard around on your schedule is going to take..? The weight is no joke. It's a young man's game (or get a partner!). There are times even I curse the damn thing..! But then I turn it on... and it returns the favor
_________________________
An arranger is just a tool. What matters is what you build with it..!

Top
#227749 - 02/25/08 04:38 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Diki,

I think your last sentence summed it up for me. I want to be like you
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227750 - 02/25/08 04:40 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Thank Russ. Nice talking with you today and see ya Thursday night

OK friends, here come the G70 questions

zuki
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
#227751 - 02/25/08 05:13 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
Diki Offline


Registered: 04/25/05
Posts: 14207
Loc: NW Florida
http://www.roland-arranger.com/smf/index.php

Make this your first stop shop, Zuki.

Probably, most of your questions have been answered already, here, and we have a good search engine. A good, mostly no-nonsense ( ) site, with plenty of solid info...

Come on in, the water's lovely!
_________________________
An arranger is just a tool. What matters is what you build with it..!

Top
#227752 - 02/25/08 06:21 PM Re: SD-5 factory reset
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4718
Joined that forum last year, but never needed it - have been checking things out now - thanks. Looks like a lot of fun.
_________________________
Live: Korg PA4X/EV Everse 8s/Senn 935/K&M stand

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  Admin, Diki, Kerry 



Help keep Synth Zone Online