SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >
Topic Options
#215884 - 07/12/06 06:32 PM What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
Composer Ryan Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/28/06
Posts: 29
Hey guys,

I was curious - what keyboard do you guys use when you actually perform on stage? I've heard that many of you have bought the Tyros 2.

I'm still using my PSR740 (which I LOVE) but I've never performed live before. lol

What's it like to perform live? Post your the keyboard you use, your experiences (good AND, yes, BAD ), and other thoughts you have on performing in front of an audience.

Ryan

Top
#215885 - 07/13/06 06:18 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
korg4god Offline
Member

Registered: 12/22/05
Posts: 171
Loc: Dodge City, Kansas 67801
Hey Ryan,

I use the same setup for live and studio because my studio gear is on stage with me at the venue. I am on staff full-time for Destiny Ministries and the Gateway Prayer House. I play live every week for a living when we have Sunday services at 11:00. We also travel a bit. Our church usually has 30-50 people in attendance but on the road we could have between 50 and 2000-3000 people depending on the size of the conference, etc.

I use a Yamaha DGX-500 as my controller and piano sounds and I MIDI to a Korg PA1x-Pro for everything else so I can do the one man band thing. If you go to my webpage http://360.yahoo.com/korg4god you can see pics of my setup - the first two albums are actually my old set up before the PA1X when I used the DGX-500 and a Korg N264 on top. I just used the DGX's drums and split/ layered sounds on the N264 to cover other sounds. The last album is with the PA1X but now I have fixed my Apex stand to allow the PA1X to sit at an angle so I can access the controls and touch screen easier and see the screen on the DGX easier as well.
_________________________
Musician / K-6 Music Teacher

Dodge City Schools -USD 443
Forte Music School

http://forte.musicteachershelper.com

Top
#215886 - 07/13/06 06:42 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10593
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
I was using a PSR-3000, which was very nice, but have recently switched to the Tyros2, which is awesome.

I play it through a pair of Yamaha MS60s powered monitors.

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
#215887 - 07/13/06 07:58 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
Impuls Offline
Member

Registered: 02/24/02
Posts: 556
Loc: Netherlands
Tyros 2,Hammond XB1 & Motionsound Pro3T +
Pa 2x 250 Watt.(as Monitors).

Impuls,
_________________________
Genos,Nord Electro 5D

Top
#215888 - 07/13/06 10:53 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
rphillipchuk Offline
Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 570
Loc: Ontario Canada
Hi
I am a home user with a Yamaha Psr2000, Yamaha MW12 mixer hooked up to a pair of Yamaha MS10's with the Yamaha SW10 sub woofer.
Whoa !!!! I think I see a pattern here.....

Ron

Top
#215889 - 07/13/06 11:03 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
billh Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/14/05
Posts: 30
Loc: Chocowinity, NC
For performing, I use a Roland Discover5, Roland VK8M Hammond Organ Module, and Roland KC500 amp. At home, I have a T2 with Tapco S8 studio monitors. Once I get the T2 ready for the road, I use it in place of the Discover5. I'm looking to get a pair of powered speakers for the road to supplement or replace the KC500. I play mostly standards, oldies, latin, Buffett, and a few upbeat songs (Manalow, Eagles, Doobie Brothers, etc.). I also want to record with the T2 but I'm still working on it.

Top
#215890 - 07/14/06 07:52 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
captain Russ Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/04
Posts: 6766
Loc: Lexington, Ky, USA
For one on-going country club job, I use my B-3 and a suitcase Rhodes, which stays put. At another club, I use the house Yamaha grand. At another house job, I use my old Ketron MS 60 and a Roland controller with an old Yamaha tone generator. With my group, I use the Roland and a Hammond/Suzuki with a Motion sound top box.

Whatever works...


Russ

Top
#215891 - 07/14/06 07:56 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
Stephenm52 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/13/05
Posts: 4620
Loc: USA
Quote:
Originally posted by ianmcnll:
I was using a PSR-3000, which was very nice, but have recently switched to the Tyros2, which is awesome.

I play it through a pair of Yamaha MS60s powered monitors.

Ian


Ian
What do you think are the best Tyros 2 features versus those of the 3000? Did twice the price of the T2 justify the move from the 3000?

Top
#215892 - 07/14/06 08:00 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
Dnj Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 40302
T2+ Laptop + 1 or 2 Mackie SRM450's.....
In & Out

Top
#215893 - 07/14/06 08:12 AM Re: What keyboard do YOU use while performing?
ianmcnll Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 07/27/05
Posts: 10593
Loc: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Quote:
Originally posted by Stephenm52:
Ian
What do you think are the best Tyros 2 features versus those of the 3000? Did twice the price of the T2 justify the move from the 3000?



Stephen,
I get an employee's discount so I paid a lot less than the retail price for the T2.

If I didn't have that benefit, I would have probably waited for the 3k replacement.

Having said that...I do love the T2.

Keyboard feel is deluxe, the SA sounds are awesome, the organs are really cool, build quality is great(made in Japan).

Ian
_________________________
Yamaha Tyros4, Yamaha MS-60S Powered Monitors(2), Yamaha CS-01, Yamaha TQ-5, Yamaha PSR-S775.

Top
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online