SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#214726 - 07/03/07 07:25 PM about my Jerry Lee Lewis posting
Mark79100 Offline

Loc: USA
Is this a joke site or a site for musicians who are serious about playing music? Let's see, I took the time to write about my efforts to learn to play music like Jerry Lee. If you're wondering, I'm no rank beginner. And I didn't throw a posting up here just to practice my posting skills. I've been wanting to "study" his licks for a while now! So I'm real excited about getting 21 replies to my message. Until I reviewed them! Respondees talking about pizzieria's, some telling me to pound on the piano, a comment about a 13 year old cousin, a pact with the devil, use your foot on the keyboard, kick the bench around, warnings against playing Jerry Lee on an average keyboard, advertisement's for Papa John's, Domino's and Pizza Hut, pizza perks, and finally a job description about someone's position at a "well-known pizza chain."

Somehow I can't see the correlation between any of the above and learning to play Jerry Lee Lewis riffs. Can you? If you need to talk personal talk about your lives and trade barbs, please do it on someone else's posting. I'd be lucky now if anyone read my ad and realized I was sincere about my request and I'm not on this board to talk about pizza.

But......thank you to those who posted the following....
http://www.homespuntapes.com/catagory/default.asp?catID=21&ctype=i
http://www.jerryleelewis.com/

Isn't that a form of what they call "stride piano"?
I would do an internet search on "stride" piano all the major publishers have books about it some have videos also. (it's NOT stride piano, but that was a good guess)

Go to www.musicrobot.com and download Jerry Lee's "Great Balls of Fire." Load that into your sequencer and print out the piano channel. The midi is pretty close and the print out should give you some indication of what's happening.