SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#209062 - 02/14/05 11:52 AM Notation Software
grandpa tom Offline

Loc: Prescott, WI, USA
Hi Folks,

What is the groups take on MidiNotate and MidiIllustraror, both of which will convert midi-files to music scores. Although I am a long time musician, I am limited in my knowledge of the high-tech discussions taking place here. I want to learn as much as possible in order to take full advantage of my new PSR-3000 that I just got last week. A few other questions:

What is the difference between a midi (.mid) and a karoke file (.kar.)?

Can an MP3 be converted to a midi file or vice-versa?

I get the impression that many of you use midi tracks and your sequencers to supplement your arrangements rather than just playing in real-time. Am I correct on that one (not that I'm knocking it)?

I will have many more questions in the future. Please help me out 'cause I really want this knowledge. I have already learned a LOT from you guys already!!

Thanks you all,

Tom J

#209063 - 02/14/05 12:13 PM Re: Notation Software
Starkeeper Offline

Loc: Toronto
"Midinotate": Works well for converting MIDI files to sheet music. I tried to use it to key in notes, and did not work well for that.
"Can an MP3 be converted to a midi file or vice-versa?"
Converting an MP3 to a midi file is problematic. Converting a MIDI file to an MP3 is possible.
"Sequencers". I play live only.

#209064 - 02/14/05 01:22 PM Re: Notation Software
travlin'easy Online   happy

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Tom,

The easiset way to convert a midi file to an MP3 is to plug your keyboard's stero output into your computer's audio in. Then follow the instructions at http://psrtutorial.com/L/REC/MakeCD.html

As for converting MP3s to midis, there are a few programs available that will do that, but the results are marginal at best.

Gary

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

#209065 - 02/14/05 01:34 PM Re: Notation Software
freddynl Offline