SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#194929 - 09/05/05 03:49 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
KFingers Offline
Member

Registered: 08/21/02
Posts: 366
Loc: Brighton - UK
Sorry Trevor I am in the UK also but I agree with Mike. The Tyros can get a range of reasonable "Theatre" sounds but can't get anywhere near the Jazz and Rock B3 sounds except for one of the sampled presets.

An instrument in this price range should be able to do both in my opinion. My Ketron can! and it's only half the price of my Tyros.

Regards - Keith

Top
#194930 - 09/05/05 04:01 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
eddiefromrotherham Offline
Member

Registered: 03/21/02
Posts: 788
Loc: Rotherham,England.
I'm with Trevor on this one.
I would love to hear again the great Organ sounds of the Lowrey.
Sadly, I ssold my Lowrey a thousand years ago (it seems)
#cheers
Eddie

------------------
Eddie from Rotherham
Skype:eddiefromrotherham
www.yamahakeyboards.info

_________________________
Eddie from Rotherham
http://www.music2myears.plus.com

Top
#194931 - 09/05/05 04:14 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
MacAllcock Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 1177
Loc: Preston, Lancashire, England
Thanks for the translation!

I wonder, does "multi-pressurepoint" mean polyphomic key aftertouch (like my Ensoniq SD1)?
_________________________
John Allcock

Top
#194932 - 09/05/05 04:50 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Roel Offline
Member

Registered: 06/24/99
Posts: 1232
KFingers,

What Ketron do you play ?
I consider the Yammie 'Hammonds' to be as good (or even better) as the SD1 organs. e.g. The SD1 sampled organs cannot use speed changes in Leslie and the 'drawbars' sound really bad.

Some state the B3-sound is the only one that counts...... I disagree on this one too.

Top
#194933 - 09/05/05 04:50 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Dreamer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/23/01
Posts: 3849
Loc: Rome - Italy
Quote:
Originally posted by keybplayer:
If they Sampled all the Kits on the Ty2 in 16 bit 44.1 kHz then it would be an improvement over the Tyros whose Voices, Styles and Drum Kits i.e. everything - are sampled in 12 bit at 22,050 kHz. Correct me if I'm wrong.


Yes, Mike, you ARE indeed wrong; the Tyros voices and drum kits were sampled at 16 bit and 48 kHz; the styles don't need sampling, because they are just plain midifiles.
Regards,
A.
_________________________
Korg Kronos 61 and PA3X-Pro76, Roland G-70, BK7-m and Integra 7, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, vintage Gibson SG standard.

Top
#194934 - 09/05/05 05:15 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
o3bor Offline
Member

Registered: 12/13/04
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally posted by Dreamer:
Yes, Mike, you ARE indeed wrong; the Tyros voices and drum kits were sampled at 16 bit and 48 kHz; the styles don't need sampling, because they are just plain midifiles.
Regards,
A.


I'm wondering how can you (both Mike and Dreamer) say what is the sampling frequency and bit resolution of Yamaha sounds.

Top
#194935 - 09/05/05 06:39 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
George V Offline
Member

Registered: 01/09/05
Posts: 331
Loc: Sofia
I was wondering how Mike could judge the sampling rate & bit depth of the new Tyros through a highly compressed online demo tracks

Top
#194936 - 09/05/05 09:01 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Scott Langholff Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3141
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
As far as sounds you like and don't like, if I am understanding this correctly, you can load in any sample you want that's on the market and will continually be able to update the sounds on this kb with all the latest. If that's so, then, hey, custom make your own kb.

Am I correct in my understanding? If not I'd like to find out.

Best
Scott Langholff

Top
#194937 - 09/05/05 09:12 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
to the genesys Offline
Member

Registered: 10/22/03
Posts: 1155
Quote:
Originally posted by Scott Langholff:
As far as sounds you like and don't like, if I am understanding this correctly, you can load in any sample you want that's on the market and will continually be able to update the sounds on this kb with all the latest. If that's so, then, hey, custom make your own kb.

Am I correct in my understanding? If not I'd like to find out.

Best
Scott Langholff


That is my understanding also.
That is wy I feel that in the sound department, Tyros II is a power house.

Now if they would just make a module for the Tyros II they would have me buying one but if not I would not be buying one of the regular Tyros II at this time.
_________________________
TTG

Top
#194938 - 09/05/05 09:22 AM Re: Tyros 2 demo
Bluezplayer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/10/00
Posts: 2195
Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
If it does have " real sampling " capabilities, then that's certainly a plus... if anyone will actually use it. I would hope that it isn't set up the way Yamaha did it on the Motif sries. You have to load everything up at each startup, no saving in flash rom.

That isn't all that bad, especially if you have a good usb jumpdrive with enough memory ( Motif can hold 512 mb of samples ) but the menu screens and processes required to take raw samples and make something useable out of them is mind boggling. It isn't nearly as bad when you have a sample package already put together that you can load up, but making your own from scratch .. man .. all I can say is fugettaboudit ( in my very NY Italian accent of course )....

I wonder if the user will need to install memory modules ( dimms, etc ) like I had to on the Motif...

AJ
_________________________
AJ

Top
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online