SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#187767 - 07/12/07 10:07 PM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
Scott Langholff Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/09/02
Posts: 3134
Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Hi Beakybird

Congrats on the new kb. Sounds like a good one.

Just a thought on the Tyros 2 styles. It's probably well worth trying out the raw untweaked T2 styles on the S900. Most of that ought to be picked up on the 900. If there are any voice changes the kb will pick the next best likely one. You may prefer this sound over the "fixed" T2 styles.

Scott

Top
#187768 - 07/13/07 09:15 PM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
Beakybird Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/01
Posts: 2220
As I posted elsewhere, my PSR S900 has a fatal flaw with the data entry dial.

I've still been playing with it, even though I cannot gig with it.

I'm really enjoying the new voices, but I'm finding another thing that I have a beef with that Yamaha should fix.

With the PSR3000 and other models, if you are playing one style and switch to another while the first style is still playing, the tempo remains the same. Not with the PSR S900. The tempo follows the default tempo of each style. What's the advantage of that? If I'm playing a style for an audience, and I decide that I wanted to play the song in another style, then I'm in trouble now. If I change to the desired style, the tempo will fluctuate and I will mess up the song.

The speakers are the same as the PSR3000.

The PSR-S900 keys have more resistance. I am playing it right next to my PSR3000, and the difference is noticeable. Less toylike.

Beakybird

Top
#187769 - 07/13/07 09:22 PM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 42592
Would FREEZE funtion button help your tempo switch problem?

Top
#187770 - 07/14/07 03:00 AM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
pasadoble Offline
Member

Registered: 11/30/01
Posts: 218
Loc: Portsmouth, England.UK
Use the registration banks to jump from one song to another...save styles with the correct sounds and tempos, name the folders and move to them freely knowing all will be correct...moving from one style to another just using the style banks while performing live is a dangerous practice...you have no idea what sounds yamaha has set and they may be totally inappropriate for the song your about to perform....use the reg system...its the only way to go.

NJ

Quote:
Originally posted by Beakybird:
As I posted elsewhere, my PSR S900 has a fatal flaw with the data entry dial.

I've still been playing with it, even though I cannot gig with it.

I'm really enjoying the new voices, but I'm finding another thing that I have a beef with that Yamaha should fix.

With the PSR3000 and other models, if you are playing one style and switch to another while the first style is still playing, the tempo remains the same. Not with the PSR S900. The tempo follows the default tempo of each style. What's the advantage of that? If I'm playing a style for an audience, and I decide that I wanted to play the song in another style, then I'm in trouble now. If I change to the desired style, the tempo will fluctuate and I will mess up the song.

The speakers are the same as the PSR3000.

The PSR-S900 keys have more resistance. I am playing it right next to my PSR3000, and the difference is noticeable. Less toylike.

Beakybird

Top
#187771 - 07/14/07 04:35 AM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
Beakybird Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/01
Posts: 2220
I do use registrations, but once in a while you're in a different situation.

The FREEZE button doesn't help.

Beakybird

Top
#187772 - 07/14/07 06:05 AM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
pasadoble Offline
Member

Registered: 11/30/01
Posts: 218
Loc: Portsmouth, England.UK
If you look into this in a bit more detail you would realise that Yamaha have actually done the correct thing in setting the tempo's for the different styles....for example, your playing a nice slow ballad and want to go a bit more up-beat! so you pick a rock & roll style only to find its moving along at a snail's pace taking its tempo from the previous style...that my friend would be considered a design fault...adapt and enjoy your keyboard.

NJ

Quote:
Originally posted by Beakybird:
I do use registrations, but once in a while you're in a different situation.

The FREEZE button doesn't help.

Beakybird

Top
#187773 - 07/14/07 06:17 AM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4477
Loc: Michigan
Quote:
Originally posted by Beakybird:
Hi Zuki! What are you referring to when you say Style ideas? - because I am always ready to exchange ideas.

Beakybird

Just found a new style Rhumba Flamenco #1.



Well, I surely want to get my hands on those new 900 styles. Don't know if I have anything to offer though since you are already a seasoned performer and have probably gone through everything with a fine comb

zuki
_________________________
Korg PA3X / QSC 8.2s / Zedi-6FX / Tascam DP24CD / Baby Blue and Encore 300 mics / Zoom Q8

Top
#187774 - 07/14/07 06:34 AM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 42592
zuki....why not upgrade since your now
"livin THe Good Life" to the S900 or T2.....if your full time you should have the very best.

Top
#187775 - 07/14/07 06:58 AM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
travlin'easy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/08/02
Posts: 14928
Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Larry,

When you press the Direct Access button, then the Freeze button it should open the Freeze Group Settings Page. This will allow you to select the items you wish to freeze. Place a check mark in Tempo and you're good to go.

Gary
_________________________
PSR-S950, TC Helicon Harmony-M, Digitech VR, Samson Q7, Sennheiser E855, Custom Console, and lots of other silly stuff!

Top
#187776 - 07/14/07 07:32 AM Re: PSR S900 First impressions
zuki Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/20/02
Posts: 4477
Loc: Michigan
Quote:
Originally posted by Dnj:
zuki....why not upgrade since your now
"livin THe Good Life" to the S900 or T2.....if your full time you should have the very best.



The "Good Life" is not a time proven thing yet. As a businessman, I have to work within my current budget, which is just fine for now. I don't foresee any additional jobs by changing keyboards.

zuki
_________________________
Korg PA3X / QSC 8.2s / Zedi-6FX / Tascam DP24CD / Baby Blue and Encore 300 mics / Zoom Q8

Top
Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online