SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#17532 - 06/28/07 11:28 AM frozen poly 800 (1st revision) - help please
bernardguillaume Offline

Just bought a poly 800 of the 1st revision. This model does NOT have an internal backup battery inside.

It was working fine for a couple of days (love it !!!), used it with batteries first, then started to use a power supply (not the original one but it worked fine for 2 days).

Then, as I turned it on again, the display showed weird signs for a couple of seconds and jumped back to "P11". No sound. Frozen. From then on, no single button/knob would work anymore - the display either shows some weird signs or "P11" but doesn't change from there, no matter what I push. The synth basically doesn't react to anything at all. If I turn the volume up it just makes click click click.....
I opened the synth, it was a little dirty but I cleaned it and I cannot see anything missing or broken (I am not an electrician though

Anybody can tell me what might be wrong ? Could my power supply have damaged something, and why ? What can I do ?

I'd appreciate any help, thanks a lot !
Bernard

#17533 - 06/29/07 06:15 PM Re: frozen poly 800 (1st revision) - help please
Justin Gazda Offline

Loc: Marietta GA, USA
First off, ALWAYS keep batteries in the thing. That reduces the chance of power dropouts and memory flakes. That said:

Two possibilities:
A.)Take it back apart and re-seat any socketed chips. Using a jewelers screwdriver, pry up each end of each chip until its about halfway out of its socket. Then, providing support, press the chip back in. If that does not work, keep reading.

B.)see if you cant get a nice person with an eprom burner to get the poly 800 hex bin file and burn you a new eprom. You may have to go to a college that has an electronics course.

It only takes a half hour at most, and chances are your original eprom can be erased and reprogrammed, so you will not have to buy a new one.