SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#173482 - 12/08/00 05:14 PM New to keyboards - need advice please
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am new to synthesizer keyboards and am thinking about getting one for myself. I played simple instruments before (recorder, melodica etc.) and would like to explore electronic devices.

I definitely want something with a floppy drive so I can store and replay tunes.

Basically I am an amateur, so I don't need a high performance device. I would prefer something that produces sounds like the acoustic instruments it imitates. Am willing to spend between US$ 300-1500.

Also, is there something like a glossary where I can learn what all the technical terms mean - such as "XG voice" etc.?

PS: I am not sure if this is the right discussion forum for this type of question - if it is not, please let me know where I should post this. Thank you!

[This message has been edited by balidoy (edited 12-08-2000).]

#173483 - 12/08/00 09:47 PM Re: New to keyboards - need advice please
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
If you can stretch your budget to $1800, I'll sell you a 1 month old Korg Triton. This board is selling for $2400 right now and is still the hottest selling synth/sampler/workstation on the market. You can't touch these for under two grand.
215-757-8598

#173484 - 12/08/00 10:46 PM Re: New to keyboards - need advice please
Jupiter5 Offline

Baliboy, your very new to synthesizer/keyboards, and the basics of XG, and Floppies!etc (must have a floppy?!) - and the last keyboard I would recommend for an amateur, would be something like a Korg Triton. or a Va7 for example.

The Yamaha 740 is the first keyboard that springs to mind, but since you have a budget (a wide ranging one it has to be said!) of up to $1,300, then think more Roland EM2000, Technics KN5000, Yamaha Psr 8000. and some korg models.