SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#172079 - 08/10/00 10:51 PM What volume pedal is best for synth ?
Gustave Offline

Loc: Columbus, OH
Does anyone know if certian volume pedals are better for keyboards as opposed to guitar?
I thought all volume pedals were about the same, but BOSS makes a high impedance model for guitar and a low impedance model for keyboards. My synth has high impeadance type outputs --- I'm confused
Idealy, I would like one pedal I could use for both.
Any suggestions ? What are you guys using ?

#172080 - 08/10/00 11:11 PM Re: What volume pedal is best for synth ?
Gustave Offline

Thanks Uncle D., but I'm a little new at this buisness and I don't think my ear is as refined as yours.
(I also don't have as much money to throw arround as Mr. C. )
Is a $20 pedal just as good as a $150 pedal?
What are you using?

#172081 - 08/11/00 10:09 AM Re: What volume pedal is best for synth ?
TomTomSF Offline

Loc: Half Moon Bay, CA, USA
Hi Gustave
Good luck with the volume pedal. I'm guessing you're using one "in line" as opposed to one that plugs directly into the keyboard? If so, I think you can stick with the cheap one. But sometimes they sound scratchy (like static) when you use them.
Tom

#172082 - 08/11/00 06:00 PM Re: What volume pedal is best for synth ?
Gustave Offline

Thanks Guys for those replys. I've been playing guitar for a few years and just recently purchased my frist synth (an Alesis QS7) to do some composing and home recording. I really like the idea of an expression pedal as Uncle Dave decribes. Alesis does not seem to offer any kind of expression pedal as an accessory.
Do you know if any expression pedal will work? Is that the same as a MIDI controller pedal?
The only thing I have found so far is an expression pedal by Kurzweil, but its a little out of my price range for now. Maybe I can find something used.

#172083 - 08/11/00 09:38 PM Re: What volume pedal is best for synth ?
COMALite J Offline