SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#15582 - 04/03/00 12:29 PM General tips for using Synth
sk880user Offline

Loc: United States
Hello to all,

On the Sk880/SK760/WK8/WK6/WK4 there are extensive synth capability. I have never used it before but I hear that some of my friends are able to create good sounds and even enhance the default sounds that come with the keyboard.

I was wondering if generalmusic-keyboard users can contribute some intructions, tips, procedures on how to use the synth option.

Greatly appreciated and hopefully this will start a good discussion.

Thanks

#15583 - 04/06/00 03:50 AM Re: General tips for using Synth
Equinox61user Offline

Hi,

One thing I did on my S2 and also on my Equinox61 is making sounds that use only one oscillator so I do not run out of Polyphony so early. Of course you can't do this with all sounds (especially not with the rich synth sounds), but for instance the Piano, the Electric piano, Organs etc still sound acceptable (not always). I believe this must be also possible on the WK/SK series (on the WX it was not possible, it had no editable synth engine, except for some simple params).

[This message has been edited by Equinox61user (edited 04-06-2000).]

#15584 - 04/06/00 10:22 AM Re: General tips for using Synth
sk880user Offline

Equinox61user,

Thank you for the input. Well that brings more questions to my mind. How would you do the following:

Have a complex sound that consists of two oscillators. when you play soft, the first will play, when you play hard the second will play.

Also I am very interested in creating a good piano sound. Have you ever enhanced the existing piano sound? It seems that the piano sounds on the GEM keyboards in general are lacking base in the middle octaves. What can you address this in the synth?

Thanks

#15585 - 04/07/00 02:57 AM Re: General tips for using Synth
Equinox61user Offline

sk880user,