SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#14958 - 09/19/04 10:17 AM GEM GENESYS QUESTION
DAN.2000 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1099
Loc: FRANCE
Hi !
I just buy a Gem Genesys Pro in france.
I read in forums that GEM will release an oriental version of the GENESYS...
I m really want it...
I want to know if this version of Genesys is just as mine with quarter tone scale and the 64 Mo flash Sound and Style for oriental music?
If this... I will able to load those files from hard disk to the flash memory to have a genesys "oriental"? Or you think is better to send back the genesys to my dealer, and re-sell it when this version will be released?
Are the files will be avaible?
I really want Oriental sounds and style, but quarter tone box or joystik is not so important for me...

Note that I have an good experience in sampling and oriental sounds if you are interessted...
I see in the genesys RAM property thant there is only 8M for sampling ram !!!!!!????
This curiously never appears in the spec of the keyboard nor in the total documentation !
And the Spec tell about the loadin AKAI and KURZWEIL sounds, but when I instert an AKAI CD, It can read the files, can copy them to the HD, but How to load them?
If the RAM is really 8M limited... can I add my sounds to the flash RAM? (I know that this is not for official use)
Thanks
Sorry for my bad english
Dan
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#14959 - 09/19/04 03:29 PM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
WDMcM Offline
Member

Registered: 02/06/04
Posts: 817
Loc: Ohio, USA
Quote:
I see in the genesys RAM property thant there is only 8M for sampling ram !!!!!!????
This curiously never appears in the spec of the keyboard nor in the total documentation !
And the Spec tell about the loadin AKAI and KURZWEIL sounds, but when I instert an AKAI CD, It can read the files, can copy them to the HD, but How to load them?


Hello Dan,

[edited out]

Loading samples from Akai, Kurzweil or others is done in the Sample Translator menu. This should be in the userís manual somewhere.

I have no information on the Oriental version. Sorry.

Hope this helps.

Dave McMahan
Generalmusic USA


[This message has been edited by WDMcM (edited 09-21-2004).]
_________________________
Wm. David McMahan
The Modulators

Top
#14960 - 09/21/04 07:33 AM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
DAN.2000 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1099
Loc: FRANCE
Thanks!

1)You have any idea where to buy this memory? In some computer dealer? What kind of memory I should ask?

2)I searched in all the keyboard and the manual, and never see a "Sample Translator menu"? Where is it in the genesys pro?
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#14961 - 09/21/04 03:03 PM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
WDMcM Offline
Member

Registered: 02/06/04
Posts: 817
Loc: Ohio, USA
[QUOTE]Originally posted by DAN.2000:
[B]Thanks!

Dan, you have mail.

Dave
_________________________
Wm. David McMahan
The Modulators

Top
#14962 - 09/21/04 06:14 PM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
WDMcM Offline
Member

Registered: 02/06/04
Posts: 817
Loc: Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by WDMcM:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by DAN.2000:
[B]Thanks!

Dan, you have mail.

Dave


Dan,

I just received an undeliverable message from the e-mail that I attempted to send you. Please verify your e-mail address in your member profile.

Thanks,

Dave
_________________________
Wm. David McMahan
The Modulators

Top
#14963 - 09/22/04 05:46 AM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
DAN.2000 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1099
Loc: FRANCE
I just upadte my email !!
you can now send to my new email
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#14964 - 09/22/04 09:22 PM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
George Kaye Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/24/99
Posts: 3295
Loc: Reseda, California USA
Dave,
Yesterday I sent Dan in France an email with the WK6oriental kit styles and sounds converted to work in a Genesys. I also sent him some Iranian styles and samples I have. I hope he figured out how to open the zip file and load all these into his Genesys. This will help him alot until the completed Genesys Oriental version is completed. I pray Generalmusic will send these here to the USA as well. I sell more middle eastern customers high end arrangers than non oriental customers.
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene
Reseda, California
_________________________
George Kaye
Kaye's Music Scene
Reseda, California
818-881-5566
www.kayesmusicscene.com

Top
#14965 - 10/18/04 10:05 AM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
DAN.2000 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1099
Loc: FRANCE
I wasn't here , but I can tell you that the kit did'nt load !!
I have an folder ORIENTAL.ALL, inside there is 5 folders :

PSTYLES.002
REALTIME.003
SETUP.005
SONGS.000
SOUNDS.004

and inside a lot of folders and files...
But what to load?
In the genesys, the LOAD buttun is always grayed with thoses files...
Perhaps some files are missing Georges?

Help me please !! if I haven't thoses oriental things, I have nothing to do wuth this genesys, cause I love the Ketron SD1 far better for western music...
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#14966 - 10/19/04 07:34 AM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
WDMcM Offline
Member

Registered: 02/06/04
Posts: 817
Loc: Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by DAN.2000:
I wasn't here , but I can tell you that the kit did'nt load !!
I have an folder ORIENTAL.ALL, inside there is 5 folders :

PSTYLES.002
REALTIME.003
SETUP.005
SONGS.000
SOUNDS.004

and inside a lot of folders and files...
But what to load?


Hello,

Try loading the master folder named ORIENTAL.ALL. This should automatically load all subfolders and their contents.

Dave
_________________________
Wm. David McMahan
The Modulators

Top
#14967 - 10/20/04 07:23 AM Re: GEM GENESYS QUESTION
DAN.2000 Online   content
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1099
Loc: FRANCE
Hi Dave!
I really don't understand why I can't load the folder, neither from the CD, nor from the HD.
Can you test it for me, and tell me what i m wrong?
Download this file
unzip it, and burn the folder on a cd.
Now try to load it!!!
You know, the only folders that can be loaded on my genesys is the DEMO and the DEMO2, they are gray colour. The ORIENTAL one is WHITE and the Load button for this folder is disable.
What can I do??? I can't use my genesys!
Please help me!

Those are copyrighted files, and are NOT for distribution.

[This message has been edited by PaulD (edited 10-20-2004).]
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online