SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#141737 - 01/01/04 03:09 PM Your Left Hand on a arranger- What does it do?
Grubba99 Offline

I'm kinda new to all this arranger stuff. heres the question. When you guys are doing a gig, what is your left hand playing? Do you play the chord and allow the accomp. to help you out, or are you putting your keyboard on "split" and setting the left side to a bass sound, and simply taking care of the bass? (without the accomp.)

- by "taking care of the bass" I mean like playing one or 2 notes, as if it were a real bass player.

thanx all.

#141738 - 01/01/04 03:22 PM Re: Your Left Hand on a arranger- What does it do?
btweengigs Offline

Loc: Florida, USA
You can do either. But, most gigging musicians play chords with the left hand to guide the accomp
Eddie

#141739 - 01/01/04 04:46 PM Re: Your Left Hand on a arranger- What does it do?
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
My left hand plays chords, and occasional single-note runs.
It also hits the fill-in, intro, and ending buttons, the modulation and pitch-bend wheels and scratches me when I itch.
The right hand plays solos, fills, riffs, changes Reg. memories and sounds and wipes by brow and/or nose, whichever needs it most.
DonM

#141740 - 01/01/04 04:52 PM Re: Your Left Hand on a arranger- What does it do?
Scottyee Offline

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
Hi Grubb: I play chords, chords, and MORE chords ! and then occasionally add single or 2 note left hand fills. I ALWAYS have the left hand assigned to a keyboard (piano, organ, synth, etc) or a string (violins, etc) sound. I also make it a point to either delete or MUTE all auto accomp keyboard parts, in order for me to play all keyboard accomp parts LIVE !