SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#136619 - 11/13/05 06:51 PM Need Advice From the Pro's..... Back Pain!!!
saxxman Offline

Loc: Niceville, FL USA
I hope someone who reads this may be able to offer me some advice. I started playing arrangers about 4 years ago. I love it! I am confident that (with more practice) I will be ready to start gigging w/my keys and/or my sax. OK - I have started to develop some pretty serious pain in my back right below the shoulder blades. It seems to "burn" when I am leaning over my PSR 3K with my arms extended. I have the 3K sitting on an adjustable stand (it's a QUIK-LOK double braced adjustable height).... I have the stand adjusted so I have to lean slightly forward over the keyboard, so I realize I'm "somewhat slouching"... However, to see the display on the 3K, I have to tower over it somehow...maybe I need a higher chair, I'm sitting on a regular piano bench right now...

Has anyone experienced this kind of ache from playing your boards? I must admit, on weekends, I play almost non-stop... but this weekend I had to take breaks today because my back is aching.

HELP! I don't want to play "less" and taking 4 MOTRIN's at a pop is not good for me either...

Thanks in advance to any and all who offer me some assistance! You guys are GREAT!

Randy

PA4X, SX900 (Baby Genos), Roland U-20, L1 Compact, Way 2 Many Saxes

"My computer beats me routinely at chess - but it's NO MATCH for me at kick boxing!"

#136620 - 11/13/05 08:12 PM Re: Need Advice From the Pro's..... Back Pain!!!
Scott Langholff Offline

Loc: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Slouching is not a good thing to do. It will give you the back problem you are talking about and also will fatigue your entire body. I can tell you this from my own personal experience as well as from observing my students.

I use an organ bench. It is higher than a piano bench. But it all depends how high your keyboard is.