SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#136218 - 03/01/01 03:21 PM PSR740 vs PSR9000
jock Offline

Loc: purton,Wilts,UK.
I have often heard critisism aimed at the
PSR740,in particular the speaker system which obviously affects the sound you hear when trying one out.Bearing in mind the sound chip has been
taken from the previous flagship PSR8000 it
is obvious that the sounds are going to be excellent.If Yamaha had fitted a better speaker system the price would have gone up considerably as any musician knows that
wattage and drive units are what you pay for!
anyway as a pro musician I had an unexpected
chance to hear a PSR9000 belonging to another band and took the opertunity to compare the ROM chips using external sound
systems.Using a MIDI file of 2 common sounds
I fired both systems up in sequnce and nobody
in either band or a few onlookers could tell
which keyboard was playing back the midi file.Of course the PSR9000 has "live voices"
but these were not used on the midi songs in question!When I use the harmoniser nobody
has ever said it sounds false,on the contrary
are quite amazed,especialy when using the 2 women backing singers,using midi data.As far
as I'm concerned the PSR740 is a brilliant
keyboard that will not be matched price for
price when it comes to sound and features.My only real gripe is the lack of editing with
the sequencer but since all my programming is
done at home in front of the PC,I simply use