SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#135607 - 04/02/07 02:28 PM Re: How many multi-instrument players here?
Diki Offline

Loc: NW Florida
I majored on trombone, but piano was my first love (and remains it). I play accordion, guitar and bass, and big valved brass (tuba, euphonium, baritone, etc.).

You may have an idea of why I started this thread - but I am pleased to see so many post here, and show that arranger isn't our one and only instrument. It just goes to show what a talented bunch hang out here and post.

I guess my main point is, doesn't it burn your butt that ONE simple addition to your arranger's features would allow you to play your 'other' instruments WITH your arranger? Many of you confess that perhaps the arranger is not even your 'main' instrument (or at least, favorite). But, short of one handed instruments like trumpet, you are ALL completely prevented from playing with your arranger. UNLESS.... you use SMFs, and completely lose the advantages that 'free' playing and spontaneity (which is why you are playing arrangers in the first place rather than workstations) give you.

Of course, I'm talking about the Chord Sequencer (again!)... And just trying to point out one MORE good reason why it is SO essential to an arranger's features. Forget bending notes (maybe some of you don't do it that much), forget playing two-fistedly (maybe you aren't that much into piano), but here is a list of some of our most devoted arranger users (and I am confident it is nowhere near all the 'doublers' on SZ) who, for lack of making enough noise to the manufacturers, are forced to give up playing their 'other' instruments, or give up using arrangers (at least arranger 'mode').