SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#13229 - 12/22/04 03:21 AM Pls Help with WK-1800
Anonymous
Unregistered

Im new to all this keyboard technology so i hope someone here can help me out with my problem.
I have a casio Wk-1800 and I have managed to record and save my songs that i play on it onto a floppy disk via the in built disk drive. What i would like to do is open them on my computer so that i can save them and burn them to CD. The problem is when i open up the floppy disk on my computer all the song files are in a strange format that the computer cant play. The file extension says ".CS3".
Can someone pleas tell me what i am doing rong or tell me how to convert the files so that they will open/play on my computer.Thanks.

#13230 - 12/22/04 06:12 AM Re: Pls Help with WK-1800
Jim Wintringham Offline

Loc: Forest, Oh., U.S.A.
It's been a while, but I think there is an option to save files in the SMF (midi0) format...check out your manual. If you don't have one...here is a link. http://world.casio.com/emi/download/en/manual/
If the end result you want is a 'wave' file (used to burn CD's)...get this audio recorder (free download). http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
You can play the song on your Casio, and hook up a cable from the Casio headphone jack (or speaker output jacks), to the computer's 'line in' (you will hear the Casio tones over your computer speakers...if you are set up correctly. You can even 'layer' in additional recordings...for more parts. If you record more 'tracks'...you will also hear the other track(s) as you 'play live' ...adding in new layers.
A final way to record is with midi cables, where you record your playing to the computer...using a program like this: http://www.pgmusic.com/powertracks.htm